MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
1,325 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
..... that makes it such a good bike on the track?

If you guys have noticed, the MV is competitive in all mag shootouts. It had the fastest laptime in Masterbike this year. Lapped faster than the R1 LE in the latest Sport Rider. It lapped faster than a Gixxer 1K in the hands of Doug Chandler.

It seems like the package as a whole is a competitive one when the spec sheet would imply otherwise. For example: It's heavy like the Honda, doesn't have the most HP, and has it's faults like abrupt fueling and so on.

I just wanted to hear about your experiences with the MV on the track and what you think makes this bike stand out from the other inlines.

·
Registered
4,473 Posts
I have very little track experience but for the canyon riding I've been doing, I think it has to do with the riding position and the weight over the front end. The only bikes that really gave me confidence were the MVs and 748/996 Ducatis. The 999 was close but I didn't feel as confident in the front end.

·
Registered
257 Posts
Turbo329 said:
..... that makes it such a good bike on the track?
Exquisite fork and frame + riding position is perfect for track use. Most other bike were wompromised to make them a lil more comfortable for everyday use. The MV comes out of the factory ready to kick ass.

·
Registered
3,255 Posts
it would have to be the confidence the bike transmits to the rider. this more than likely comes from the front end/frame/riding position as previously stated. with performance numbers so close, what would make the difference is the rider. and it comes down to what the rider believes they can do on the bike as much if not more so that what the bike can do. sad thing is, it can make a lesser experienced person a little TOO invincible. :nerd:

·
Registered
1,560 Posts