MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I just talked to Evoluzion (simi valley Ca) about setting sag on my 04 750. I haven't started the process yet (need more people) but I was wondering if anyone that is about my weight has successfully set sag on their 750. Ken from Evoluzion suggested that it might not be possible, and I may have to change out my springs.

I am 5' 8" and I weigh about 140 pounds. I was going to set my high and low speed compression first, but I was told that sag should be done first.

I have no prior experience with such things so any help would be appreciated ( I do have several articles that talk about how to set sag and I know that rear static should be 5-10mm (30mm with me on bike), front 5-15mm (35mm with me on bike).

Currently I believe the bike is stock and it is a really hard ride. I'm bouncing out of the seat and it only gets worse with speed.

·
Registered
104 Posts
harsh ride

I too have an 04 Brutale S and have not set sag yet but have played with the preload, compression and damping on both ends. 5'8" and 170 lbs. so a bit heavier than you. Just a tad (1-2 clicks) over the standard settings are just about right for me on the street and a bit more at the track. At 140 lbs. you should probably start at the soft settings and go up from there. I am sure you'll find the ride much more supple before having to think about springs, etc. :blah:

·
Registered
1,179 Posts
The most likely reason you're bouncing out of the seat is due to the overly harsh compression.

With the wacky stock setup range on the Marzocchis your compression can be so stiff you'll bounce right out of the seat even if the springs are too soft. Tough to believe but that was how my bike came from the factory.

Don't assume you can fix everything with a screwdriver. ;)