MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
461 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I give up, been searching the forum/google etc for the location of the rpm sensor on the 910 Brutale with no joy?

I have a Gipro gear indicator (DS model) and have wired up the speed sensor (upper conector by the water pump) and have figured that I will tap the red wire to the brake switch, but I cannot find the wire to tap the green/grey wire to. This is supposed to connect to the rpm sensor, but the instructions only provide info for Ducatis! By the way, I do have the correct loom.

Anyone who can point me in the write direction would be much appreciated.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
i need help also i have the new cdi(fuse)box on my brutale 2004 in service they told me that my failure with box is because of hid light (hi beam) and led turn signals. if any body can give me more information about that cause now my turn lights and hi beam HID are disconnected and i am afraid to connect them, cause i dint want to spend another 5000$ for fuse box.it is the latest fuse box for mv agusta brutale 750/2004. bought august 2011.Please guys any information is good ,thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
313 Posts
http://my.agusta.us/Manuals/6. Electrical System.pdf

16 - R.P.M. SENSOR
If the r.p.m. of the engine is not signalled on the instrument
panel with the engine switched on, check:
• The continuity between pin (16) of the instrument
panel and pin (20) of the CPU.
• If the cause is verified, the fault will be found in the
CPU.
In the case of substitution of the CPU: with
the ignition key in the “OFF” position wait
approximately fifteen seconds before disconnecting
the same.

This is from the F4 manual, Brutale seems to be the same as you would expect.

http://my.agusta.us/Manuals/Brutale/910_chassis_workshop_manual.pdf
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
203 Posts
i need help also i have the new cdi(fuse)box on my brutale 2004 in service they told me that my failure with box is because of hid light (hi beam) and led turn signals. if any body can give me more information about that cause now my turn lights and hi beam HID are disconnected and i am afraid to connect them, cause i dint want to spend another 5000$ for fuse box.it is the latest fuse box for mv agusta brutale 750/2004. bought august 2011.Please guys any information is good ,thanks
I have recently installed a new type of "SPU" on 750/2005 - fuel pump, injectors and coils were dead.

Now I have the "HID" light (LO), also have LED turn signals and have no problems.

HID system in the first about 5-10 seconds after launch, uses more amps than standard bulbs but after the bulb warms up, he needs fewer amps than standard bulbs. The only thing that would be allowed to happen is that when you turn on the HID's is to burn out fuse (15A).
These 15A on the standard voltage of 13.8V is about 200W, and 35W HID ballast system never reaches 200W :smoking:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
461 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks have this same manual, but Healtec the makers of the GiPro unit imply that there should be a three pin electrical conector in the area of the crankcase, whereas the manual is referring you to the CPU?

I had one of these on an R6 previously and that had a three pin electrical connector running from the RPM sensor which could be found on the crankcase.

Still confused by this?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
313 Posts
Thanks have this same manual, but Healtec the makers of the GiPro unit imply that there should be a three pin electrical conector in the area of the crankcase, whereas the manual is referring you to the CPU?

I had one of these on an R6 previously and that had a three pin electrical connector running from the RPM sensor which could be found on the crankcase.

Still confused by this?
If you only have 1 wire left to connect (green/grey) and are looking for the wire that gives the signal to the tacho it would be the wire that goes to position 16 on the instrument harness.
The RPM sensor is #14 on the electrical diagram, you should be able to follow the wires to it from the CPU.
The wires for the sensor on the diagram are marked W & Br, presumably White & Brown, they go to positions 11 & 28 on the CPU. It has 1 other wire marked B which is a earth/ground wire.

The sensor can be seen in the Brutale manual section D page 14.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
22,072 Posts
-1

http://my.agusta.us/Manuals/6. Electrical System.pdf

16 - R.P.M. SENSOR
If the r.p.m. of the engine is not signalled on the instrument
panel with the engine switched on, check:
• The continuity between pin (16) of the instrument
panel and pin (20) of the CPU.
• If the cause is verified, the fault will be found in the
CPU.
In the case of substitution of the CPU: with
the ignition key in the “OFF” position wait
approximately fifteen seconds before disconnecting
the same.

This is from the F4 manual, Brutale seems to be the same as you would expect.

http://my.agusta.us/Manuals/Brutale/910_chassis_workshop_manual.pdf
Be carefull mate, vast difference between F4 and B4 wiring.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
20,390 Posts
The crank position sensor on the left side of the cases is what tells the ECU engine rpm. I think it has a 3 wire plug.

The SPU on 2007 and earlier Brutales (US...other markets maybe be 2006) are notorious for failing SPU.....has nothing to do with your lights. Plenty of threads on that subject.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
461 Posts
Discussion Starter #9 (Edited)
Many thanks for the responses guys.

As Ed stated the crankcase position sensor is located on the left side of the crankcase and that is what I was looking for (note Healtech do'nt refer to it as that). Anyway, having found that you can just about get your fingers in to trace the wire into the engine area under the tank. By the way, anyone else thinking of installing one of these on a 2006 Brutale you will need to remove the tank, as the connector you are looking for runs behind the horizontal frame member just in front of the airbox. Well hidden away, hence why I couldn't find the thing in the first place!

Having found the connector (as stated it is a three wire conector with a rubber boot shrouding either side) tap in to the brown wire (conveniently numbered 1 on the connector) and the rest is relatively straight forward. I am going to tap the red wire, which powers the device, to the rear brake switch (unless anyone can suggest a better source) and the job should be done.

You will note that the last bit is written in the future tense, as I am yet to put the bike back together again and set up the device! As I am going to be changing the fuel tank, add an air filter etc I may as well leave her as she is until those parts arrive rather than creating more work for myself.

Again, many thanks to you all.

Dave
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
48 Posts
Hi!

I'm a new member of this forum.....I have a Brutale 2004 750S and I have a problem with the RPM display and the multifunctional display on the dashboard doesn't work......what can be the problem?
I changed first the rpm sensor.....the problem not resolved with this!
Second I try another dashboard unit but the problem is the same....please help me I have no idea what the problem is!

Thanks Guys!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
654 Posts
I've just fitted a Gipro Xtype to my Wife's Brutale S. You need to remove the tank where you'll find the RPM sensor located behind the cylinder block and just below the fuel inlet rail.
I connected the wire to pos.1 which is the brown wire. Are you sure that the DS model is compatible with the Brutale??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
461 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
I've just fitted a Gipro Xtype to my Wife's Brutale S. You need to remove the tank where you'll find the RPM sensor located behind the cylinder block and just below the fuel inlet rail.
I connected the wire to pos.1 which is the brown wire. Are you sure that the DS model is compatible with the Brutale??
Yes the DS model worked fine on my 07 910R. I have though since sold that bike.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
654 Posts
Stupidly I didn't check the date of your original post!! Thought it was a new question. We Scots aren't really famous for using our brains!
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top