MV Agusta Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry for the long post, I'm going to assume some of you nerds like this kind of thing though

So I'm trying to figure out which bike to get next. I currently have a vintage Triumph that I LOVE, more than I even thought I would. It seems like I'm still learning the intricacies of that bike a year later, e.g. exactly when to shift after pulling in the clutch so that it doesn't miss the gear.

I bought an old Triumph because I started to have a bad taste about all the modern classic bikes, and even though modern Triumphs are amazing machines, it just seemed more fun to get the original, real thing. My main reason for telling you this is to show that I'm mainly a motorcycle enthusiast. I've never really owned or ridden a sport bike, and for the most part I go on a few rides per week just for fun. I don't like to tear up corners or go super fast.

BUT, I'm obsessed with MV Agusta and the history of sport bikes. I've considered almost every new MV they have besides the ones that cost as much as a small house but I'm leaning now towards getting an original F4 750 for the same reason I got an original Triumph. Well not exactly the same reason, but why not get the thing that started it all? And also, an F4 1000 really would be overkill for me

My big question is this: Would a bike like that really be fun for around town or just short fun rides on b roads? Obviously part of owning a bike like that is just owning it, and I definitely have some of that, but I don't want to own a bike just to look at it. It seems like overkill for what I actually do in terms of riding but I kind of don't care! Any thoughts on the original F4 as a rider?

·
Registered
343 Posts
I have the 1000. It took a while to get used to the power but she's excellent in town, smooth, easy to ride, buttery smoorh gear changes, lane splitting at lights etc. The 750 is really a gorgeous cafe racer at heart. Go for it.