MV Agusta Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4,587 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've never done this before......but a few days ago after coming back to work after lunch when locking the bike I accidentally locked it with the 'parking light' on...for about an hour..., certainly no more.

Anyway when I came to go home..,there wasn't enough 'juice' in the battery to start it and I had to 'bump start' to get home. (tried twice down a hill..had to use 6th gear)

I kinda thought this was a little 'strange'? as what is the point of a 'parking light'? if after an hour you can't get the bike started!. (not that I ever use it or ever will again!)

So today I decided to do a little experiment and test my battery's voltage reading when 'normally' in the bike..
....it reads 13.67 volts

I put the 'parking light' on for 1 hour..

It drops to 10.40 volts!....after just 1 hour!....(gonna try it again after 30mins...15mins etc and see what happens)

No wonder the bike wouldn't start..,and the battery is pretty good..,cranks the bike very efficiently etc.... Landport YTZ10-S lead acid battery.
Maybe not 'top notch' like a Yuasa ...but it's OK

I have another new 'Lucas' battery that I may switch to so I can see if it makes any difference.

But I have to say in my case accidentally turning the ignition key just a 'little' too far round (engaging) the parking light which I didn't notice in the sunlight...for just about 1 hour left me stranded.

Incidentally the 'parking light' appears to just switch on the small 'side light bulb' in the bottom of the headlight...the tail light and 'dashlight' (no dash readings)
Brian:)

Attachments

·
Registered
4,587 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
How old is the battery...sounds to me like its nearing the end of its life
It's about 4 years old....., I've just put in the new 'Lucas' one and I'm gonna repeat and continue the 'experiment' today to see if it makes any difference.
It's on full charge at the moment.