MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, just got my first mv brutale and ive just discovered oil leaking from the head after i ride. The bike has practicallt sat for a year :/

How do i fix this? Or is this a shop job? I'm a uni student so I'd like to do it myself to save money.

·
Super Moderator
22,332 Posts
Hey, Fish...welcome to the madhouse!

You use the phrase UNI so I am going to assume you are not in the US. Where on this Blue Marble do you reside?

If you go here: http://www.teamdouble3racing.com/manuals.php you can download your bike's manual for free thanks to the efforts of Donsy and other members of this forum.

What you need to do is not hard. These bikes are easy to work on. Read the manual a bit, look at the bike to see what you need to do, and go about it methodically.

We will help along the way. There are thindgs to look at as you go that will make your bike better.

Think well-nuts, rear hub, chain adjustment to name a few.

·
Registered
14,500 Posts
?

Chuck;
He's a student.....

Consult the manual

Simple fix, remove the valve cover ....clean all mating surfaces and use a very thin coat

of silicone form a gasket on all surfaces including the cover bolts and O- rings

While sealing things ...do the F4 cover too

Check the O-rings on the cylinder head drain tube too

:popcorn:

·
Super Moderator
22,332 Posts
I realize he is a student Noel...but WHERE?

Typically, US students say I'm in school or I'm in college...not I'm a UNI student....

·
Super Moderator
22,071 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Hey guys,

I'm studying in Sydney, Australia. Doing civil eng and accounting :).

Thanks for the advice guys! I cleaned and reinstalled the gasket with permatex rtv for now, i'll definitely order a new gasket soon, i was just a bit impatient.