MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
233 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so i got 7400 miles out of the stock pilot powers, and just put on a brand new set of michelin power pure tires. less than 200 miles later, i have a nail in my new rear tire, lol. :jerkoff: :banghead:

i've never used a plug kit before, what are the thoughts on using these? do i pay to have my tire dismounted, do the plug myself, then pay to have it remounted? or just take the wheel to the dealer and have them plug it? what would you do?

·
Registered
337 Posts
That sucks!

I've had my car tires patched before for small punctures. Never a plug. Most tire places advise against it (plugs) for cars. Patches worked great and never had a problem with them.

That all said, I would probably bite the bullet and just a get a new tire for the motorcycle. My gut instinct says you should be fine patching it but with bikes, I would prefer to be on the safe side.

Just my .02cents.
Mike

·
Registered
1,499 Posts
they do a plug/patch from the inside, I'd do it as long as you're not tracking it

·
Registered
417 Posts
The only tyre i would plug is a truck tyre,no way a bike tyre,got to have 100% faith in your tyres ,and not with a plug in it,your ass ?

·
Registered
57 Posts
That looks like a pretty big nail. I would not patch/plug it.

If it was something small like a thin wood nail, then sure.. But not for something that big.

·
Registered
312 Posts
Get a new tire. It sucks, it happened to me before with just a couple hundred miles on my tire but you'll have to just bite the bullet. The plug might work very well and last for a couple thousand miles OR you might experience a rear tire failure at a high rate of speed within a week. Your call.

·
Registered
217 Posts
suuucks! last nail I bit was just patched, but it was the size of a pin, not the size of a pinkie. egads.

·
Registered
163 Posts