MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
828 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
G'Day,

Further to a previous post on this subject I'm on the road again. Got to give Andre and the Boys at Star Twin Trading a big thank you for getting me back on board quickly.

As far as internet trades go this is one of the best. As far as trading with bike shops it's brilliant. Not often I've been able to say that about a bike shop and I've been riding for 40 years! Competitive pricing but most of all brilliant communication with no bullshit.

On that note a couple of dealers (official) in Oz wanted between $1200 - $2000 dollars for the hub alone, never mind all the other parts I needed. Big debate raging here at the moment fueled by retailers about taxing internet transactions. With gouging like that why are they surprised? Even if they did tax I'd still shop elsewhere. Time they got on board like the rest of the world.

Thanks to all who replied to my original post with either info. or sympathy. Thanks to Mitch and The Knurl re Mitch's Hub. I would have gone down this road if my axle hadn't been stuffed. Got out of it for under $1000Au which I couldn't have been done having to buy a Mitch's Hub plus axle.

Paranoid now about the bloody thing. Took it for a test ride to do a bit of Christmas shopping. About 10k in traffic at 60k/h. Felt the hub when I parked and fuck me it felt hot, Shit myself! Had I done something wrong? Seemed a lot cooler when I remounted about 20 mins later. Took it straight home and rechecked torques. Have 200Nm on sprocket nut, 180Nm on wheel nut and 28Nm on pinch bolts which were my first concern. I read on the forum somewhere the hub should be 60-70 degrees C.

Hard to judge here in Townsville at the moment. Hot enough to boil a monkey's bum! 36C in the shade and 90% humidity. Road temperature must be in 40 - 50's.