MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
798 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, here is the thing. I just did my first track day ever by attending the two day (level I and level II) CSS camp at Pocono raceway. Now all I can think about is getting back to the track. I will go back to CSS in August for level III. I have and will use the school's bikes for these classes. My dilemma now is whether to go out and buy an inexpensive track bike (a used japanese appliance) or track my Brutale. I am a novice and like the rest of you have emotional ties to my bike. If I ever dumped the Brutale I would be severely bummed. On the other hand, I would love to track the Brutale and use its performance for what it was intended. I know many of you track your F4s and Brutales. Any advice would be appreciated.

·
Registered
5,387 Posts
You're addicted now, there's no way back from the track :king:

My advice is for you to buy a used jap 600cc (an R6 or a CBR RR) and track it. It's not that expensive and there's lots of cheap spares in case you crash it. Also they are much more suited to use at the track than the Brutale.

Go and get one :stickpoke :smoking:

·
Registered
1,059 Posts
Yeah, welcome to the addiction. :)

Ah, the classic question. Spend money on a track bike that isn't as good as the MV or track the MV and have one expensive crash.

I agree with MV-999R. R6 or CBR RR are great bikes. Even a prepped SV is a great track bike. I've tracked my MV F4 a lot in the past but like you, if I wad it, it probably would end up staying wadded. :)

Now with that said, there's nothing saying you can't get a 600 and still occasionally track the Brutale for the fun of it. But you'll find you'll want to start pushing a bit and finding your limits and the bikes is easier to recover from financially on a 600.

·
Registered
1,292 Posts
Use the MV!!