• No

Votes: 2 50.0%
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All,
I have a OEM reverse shift drum new in package. For one reason or another I never installed it on my bike and plan to do so this spring. I am a mechanical engineer and I was considering reverse engineering the NOS part and offering it to the public for sale. It would be Identical design, precision tolerances, material, etc. as the OEM I have wanted to do this for years and life was always a distraction. I have seen the drums sell over the years for crazy money so I know there is a demand. But how much of a demand is there after so many years since the last bike has been produced? I am not looking to get rich, but fill a need. If there is enough interest, I will engineer the part and explore the costs of manufacture. Keep in mind that for this drum to be a reasonable cost for everyone, we need a group buy. The set-up (fixtures, cutters) and CAM programming cost will be amortized in the cost of the part. The more parts equal cheaper cost,

If someone has access to a CNC lathe perhaps we can work together to keep the price down.

·
Registered
7,934 Posts
If the price is right. I would take one.

·
Registered
1,342 Posts
I would be interested. Keep shifting the wrong way after spending too much time on the track bike :ROFLMAO:

·
Registered
F4 312r
245 Posts
Why not exactly?
I'm happy with the standard shift pattern first and foremost. If I did want it, I suspect it could be done just as well with a lever/ link combination at a fraction of the cost. Saying that, I shall follow this link with interest.
All the best and I hope you get to do it.

·
Registered
1,342 Posts
I'm happy with the standard shift pattern first and foremost. If I did want it, I suspect it could be done just as well with a lever/ link combination at a fraction of the cost. Saying that, I shall follow this link with interest.
All the best and I hope you get to do it.
Depends if you want the stock look or not.