MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I am fairly new to MV. I have had my 2014 F3 800 since April. I crashed at the track on a straight after what appeared to be my rear wheel locking up during downshift. Nothing makes sense other than the slipper clutch locking up as I wasn't even to the brake marker yet, let alone the turn. There were 3 witnesses that said it appeared my rear wheel had locked up. I didn't use my rear brake, and even the dealer observed the rear brake wasn't really even operating correctly.

I'm thinking this would NOT show up on a diagnostic as an error code? Has anyone had any issues like this? I was lucky to walk away without broken bones and only a jacked up suit, bruises, a sprained neck and a headache!

Any advice would be awesome! Thanks!

·
Registered
666 Posts
wouldn't the slipper clutch overide the gear box?! even if the engine sized the slipper should free the rear tire don't you think?

·
Registered
895 Posts
Why were you downshifting BEFORE your braking marker? Sounds like a recipe for disaster right there.:wtf:

·
Super Moderator
22,615 Posts
no. The slipper clutch would not slip that much
This is an interesting contention, Geroge. The slipper in my 2010 Brutale 1090 RR will absolutely overcome a stalled engine to allow the rear to spin, so it sould overcome a locked up gearbox.

I have tested this at 65 mph tying to "bump start" my Brutatle after I shut it off to reset the tach. The slipper just let the rear spin and the engine never turned over to allow a bump start.

It was all very smooth, too.

·
Registered
666 Posts
2 things 1st as per wikipedia encyclopedia "the slipper clutch can also prevent catastrophic rear wheel lock up in case of enging seizure" just google it like I did.
2nd I downshift before the braking markers.
If they had downshift markers where would they put them on the track? after the braking markers! How would that work?

·
Super Moderator
22,072 Posts