MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Formerly WYD OPN
2,150 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just found the site and this is my first post. Glad to see there are quite a few hard-core MVers.

I've been riding for 30 years and have recently purchased a few bikes (see sig). My original plan was to buy a Senna and a Harley, but for a couple reasons I bailed on the MV and bought a Yam R1 and a Kaw ZX-14. I love them both, but find I'm still wanting an MV.

The R seems to be the "Goldilocks" version: "Just right!" But... the reason I've never bought an MV has to do with my concerns about dealer support, maintenance, and residual value. The nearest dealer is 160 miles away (Motor Cycle Center in Villa Park, IL), and I don't want to ride or trailer 3 hours for service at an unfamiliar dealer.

I want to buy an F4 1000R and a 910R, but would appreciate some feedback from others who may not live near their dealers. A heads-up on the above Chicago-land dealer or others would also be potentially helpful.

I'd love to buy from ProItalia, but that's not feasible. Can somebody help me out?

·
Registered
5,387 Posts
Hi and welcome.

I can't help you one the dealers question, but congrats for getting the MV R's
If i were you i would get rid of the HD's :barfalot: and get a Veltro :D :smoking:

·
Pimp of posts
6,301 Posts

·
Registered
1,937 Posts
Although we don't yet have enough of a feel for the F4R's reputation I think it's safe to say it will follow that of the preceeding models. If you ride a lot of miles you'll have to decide for yourself if you are willing to make the trip for the 600mi and then 7200mi service intervals.

Don't expect to have to go often for warranty work.

·
Registered
422 Posts
Interesting list indeed.

I recently went from an 05 Raven R1 to an F4-1000S and I'm MUCH happier. Better usable power / gearing than the R1.

·
Registered
479 Posts
You bought Jap bikes and are worried about residual value?