MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Help!!! I am new to MV motorcycles and to this forum but not to motorcycle maintenance. I have a 2001 Ducati 996. I have never had any trouble with the Ducati maintenance. I recently bought a 2000 F4. I am in the process of doing periodic maintenance. Most of the intake valves are tight. In the process of removing the cams one of the hex heads rounded in a socket head cap [email protected]#$&!!! I was using a 5mm Craftsman hex bit on a 3/8 ratchet the hex was fully engaged. These screws seem to be very tight. Any advice would be helpful!!! Also where is the best place to find torque specs for the engine screws and bolts?? It seems the engine section is missing from the service manual on this website. :bawling:

Thanks!
Tracy

·
Registered
1,560 Posts
I think what you did is common. Some of these bolts are made out of cheese, and when you loctite them there isn't much that can avoid this. Seems like this happens on Ducatis once in a while too...

I haven't had to adjust my valves yet, they checked out OK so far (8500 miles).

There is an engine manual floating around somewhere. I know I have it on my machine at home but I'd have to look.

I'm guessing that the torque for that is going to be the same as any other similar bolt. If it's an M6, it probably will be the same as most any other M6.

·
Registered
2,291 Posts
acruhl said:
I think what you did is common. Some of these bolts are made out of cheese, and when you loctite them there isn't much that can avoid this. Seems like this happens on Ducatis once in a while too...

I haven't had to adjust my valves yet, they checked out OK so far (8500 miles).

There is an engine manual floating around somewhere. I know I have it on my machine at home but I'd have to look.

I'm guessing that the torque for that is going to be the same as any other similar bolt. If it's an M6, it probably will be the same as most any other M6.