MV Agusta Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2,431 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been doing a lot of thinking and I figured this would probably be the best place to ask. I know that the majority of individuals on this site are on the wealthier side of the spectrum. So, I have to ask... What does "education" mean to you?

I, for one, am not formally educated. I have my high school diploma and a couple college classes under my belt, and that's about it. Well, anything I can really put down on paper. As most of you are tenured in your respective career fields, you may be able to shed some light on my conundrum.

The reason I'm asking is I may be taking another huge step in my life. Separation from the Air Force. Obviously I want to get a good job after I get out and I keep hearing that in order to do so, one requires a degree. How much truth is in this statement? Would you rather hire a highly adaptable individual with a multitude of experiences who is still relatively intelligent? Or would you rather hire a professionally educated individual? Obviously it's all situational, one wouldn't hire an uneducated person to be a stockbroker or attorney, I'm aware of that.

Anyway, I would enjoy a discussion on this subject if anyone would like to join me. I love learning new things! :)

·
Registered
8,010 Posts
I have met several dumb professionally educated individuals. This does not mean that all are. I go more on the person than a degree.

·
Registered
2,431 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah, I hear you there. I get to deal with officers (bachelor's or higher) that don't know their ass from a hole in the ground. But the whole mentality of "you have to go to college to get a good job" thing confuses me. What does a degree tell an employer?

·
Registered
17,191 Posts