MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks,
I have a 04 Brutale and it looks like I have the common problem with the fuse box. No juice at the fuel pump/coil fuse. Big brown bubble on the back of the box under the pretty blue stuff.

1) Where do I buy one ( ouch )
2) anyone powered the fuel pump/coils with a external relay?

Thanks
Bill

·
Registered
735 Posts
ebay uk

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I am new at MV but from I hear parts are scarce here and HD is supposed to be taking over. Let me see if I get any suggestions for this side of the pond and if not, will have to order something over there.

·
Registered
364 Posts
I don't have a wiring diagram in front of me at present but off the top of my head I'd say it shouldn't be too difficult to fit an external pump/coil relay.

If memory serves correctly, the switched power feed that supplies the fuse box's internal pump relay loops out and then back into the fuse box (pins 6 and 7 from memory but don't quote me on it). This loopback could be used to supply a live feed for an external relay, the internal relay coil is also feed with a permanent live so this loopback could also be used to supply a positive feed to the external relay's trigger coil.The actual relay coil trigger comes from the ECU as an open collector output so that's just a simple case of working out which cable triggers the relay and connecting it to the external relay.

The only thing you won't be able to do easily is make use of the existing pump fuse so perhaps fitting a relay holder with integral fuse holder would be best suited.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks Hartley, I have a diagram but is too small to read ( came with the manual) I wlll pick up a magnifying glass this evening and see if I can make sense out of it.

Lots of good info on this forum. Hope I don't need to all of it keep this bike running :))

Bill

·
Registered
13,695 Posts