MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello mates!

As I stated in my intro, I am seriously thinking about getting an MV F4. I have read the forums a lot, but still have a few questions, for which I did not find the exact answers. So that is why I am asking for your help, opinions.

But first, about me. I have been riding an Aprilia RS250 for quite a few years, so regular services and temperamental bikes are not sth new to me. (Although, truth to be told, it never left me on the side of the road..)
I am riding only on the street, there is no track nearby. And probably I will not do any track days in the near future too, so I am looking on the purchase from this point of view. (the RR with the TXX is an overkill for me, and an unnecessary probable source of problems)

So, from the point of reliability and usability, is the 2013 upgrade of the F4 would worth choosing over a 2010-2012 bike with the Marelli ECU? Honestly, I do not really need the power upgrade of the corsacorta engine also. I just want an achingly beautiful and fun bike to ride on the nearby B-roads for lot's of years to come. The main things, that complicate the decision for me are the newer ECU and the ABS - is the latter one worth it?

There is a silver 2012 bike (F4 or F4R) for sale, with some smaller repaired body damages, on which I could possibly get a bargain price - first owner bike w 13000km (about 8000miles). I was thinking to get a full repaint for it (black w red accents like the Senna 750), so the previous accident and the grey/silver colour may not be crucial.

What are your thoughts about this? Any help is appreciated.

And would like to ask, if there is a buying guide for 2nd gen F4 here, what too look out for, please post the forum link for it, because I did not succeed to find it...

Thanks a lot!!!

·
Registered
2,320 Posts
I would be very cautious of buying a bike that has been crashed.