MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, everyone. New to the forum and the MV Agusta family. Been dreaming of an MV for many years and finally score a beautiful '08 910R in Denver with no real miles on her. I have to say she's everything i expected. Handels like a hot knife through butter and pulls like a train. The bike's bone stock. Unlike most who own these beasts, being a racer, I like the sharp throttle. The only issue I have, and it doesn't bother me too much, is the surging while trying to hold a steady speed. It's more so at higher speeds but, none the less, always there. On the track it's really a non issue but I ride her on the street, too. Now, I'm no newbie to the two wheeled world and I assume a Power Commander, or possibly an eprom, with a good tune on a dyno will clear most of this up but before I go spending $350 for the PC and $200 on a dyno I thought I'd ask those who have tackled the problem first in case there's another solution I'm unaware of. Any info will be greatly appreciated.

·
Administrator
20,019 Posts
There was a factory update on the ECU mapping to fix the surge at steady throttle 50~60 mph. Don't know if your bike got that or not. Don't know if still available, but Ferraci might as his son Larry was running MV USA when your bike was originally sold.

It can also be minimized with a careful tuning by a tech that knows what he is doing.

But if you want to make it run really good try and get the Corse exhaust and kit ECU !!!! Or if you have bucks get a Microtech.

The PC III won't work well on your bike because of the o2 sensor. The DynoJet oxygen sensor eliminator won't work either, since it sends a constant flat line signal and the ECU wants a varying signal so it knows the sensor is working. Flat line will throw a trouble code and ECU goes to limp home mode.

Many discussions on this subject. Search is your friend.

·
Registered
24 Posts