MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 20 of 93 Posts

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Greetings,

I have been lurking reading all I can on the Brutale models. I currently have a 2007 910R with 252 original miles. I am second owner. I have been working on motorcycles for several years as being retired allows me the time. I know that the worst thing is to let them sit and you can imagine this bike sat most of it's life. As far as I can tell nothing has been done other than oil changes. All stock.

The issue I'm having is a stall, just flattens out at 4000 to 4600 rpm. I would like to think it was a fuel issue but given the small range I'm thinking otherwise. The fuel filter is stock I believe. XL 145. The gas looked/smelled a little old. I topped off with high test and sea foam. I'm pretty sure it's been 3 or more months since fuel was put in it. (Saw bike in June, bought in August, rode two days ago)

Symptoms:

1) Motor just falls flat at 4000 to 4600 rpm when giving it throttle.

2) At 4000 rpm with a steady throttle it is fine.

3) If you downshift and the rpm is above 4600 rpm it's fine. Below accelerating toward 4000 rpm it falls flat at 4000 rpm and won't run smooth or go past that point. (anywhere else is fine)

4) There is no popping or back firing. Sounds like there is just no fuel.

Thoughts:

1) Dirty injectors. (seems odd)

2) Fuel filter.

3) Bad gas.

4) Plugs. (seems odd)

5) Electrical issue in fuel system. TPS comes to mind.

So, with the help of this forum I'm looking for direction, thoughts and ideas. I'm not a super electrical guy but could probably figure it out. Well, hopefully figure it out. No dealers close to me and nobody I really trust to do the work.

Disappointing to say the least but hoping for a fix. Thanks in advance.

tt

Attachments

·
Registered
876 Posts