MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the MV owners club, and have yet to pick up my new Senna (paid for, but have to make my way to the dealer next weekend).

I have read quite a bit online as to the best way to break in a new engine (to ensure the tightest piston ring seal), and the advise seems to be that using petroleum oil is the way to go. Apparently the MV's come with full-synth from day 1.

They have to drain the oil on my bike to install the GP-Shift kit anyway, and I am leaning towards having them put back real petroleum when they do so.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

·
Registered
1,551 Posts
Speed, first welcome to the forum and congrats on the new bike. If you've never ridden an MV before, be prepared to fall in love! The bikes get run in at the factory, but it's debatable whether the rings are seated during that run-in. So, to answer your question, it certainly won't hurt to swap out the synthetic. Until recently, I used to adhere strictly to manufacturers recs, however, now I run the bikes hard from the start without actually redlining it. After 50 miles with the petroleum based oil, switch to synthetic. Also, do yourself a favor and avoid the temptation to break it in now on the salt laden NYC streets!

·
Registered
1,007 Posts
Yet another Senna congratulation. :yo:

I personally just ride the bike how sport bike suppose to be ridden and do the oil/filter change around 120-170 miles. Next oil change will be at 600 miles service anyways.

Ride on and enjoy. :guitarist

·
King of the Sink
1,571 Posts
Go SpeedRacer, go! :)

Welcome to the forum!

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Wow - hey, thanks to all for the warm welcome. I am definitely glad to be a part of the MV community, and having only ridden Japanese sportbikes before I am brimming with excitement to take the Senna out for a whip.