MV Agusta Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellas. My little brother is turning 17 this year and getting his rider's license. From what he has told me he would like one of those cookie cutter bikes currently on sale new. The Led light, single cylinder 400cc 4strokee like the KTM rc390 etc.. He can't buy one yet (thankfully) as he's too young to have any real money. I would like to surprise him and buy the little dude something more substantial.. I am torn between an Aprilia RS125 two stroke and a Ducati Supersport 600, the 90s version with the square headlight. I have always ridden 2stroke Aprilias and I think they are tools to become a good rider. Athough I love them to death, they were really a pain in the ass in every case other than the track. About the Ducati, I have no experience whatsoever, but it looks awesome and seems to be friendly enough for a newbie. What do you guys think would be the better option?

·
Super Moderator
25,163 Posts
The 900SS is a solid bike. Works well, not too much power.

Reactions: AF1

·
Registered
1,658 Posts
CBR 500R all day long. It was my first bike and it's honestly the best of both worlds. Super reliable, 70 mi to the gallon, parts are dirt cheap and it tops out at 110mph.

You got to think that he's going to lay it over and smash a mirror and scrape a fairing so he's going to want something that he can replace parts on very readily and easily and cheaply.

Sent from my Armor 9 using Tapatalk

Reactions: AF1

·
Old Wing Nut
23,992 Posts
Any smaller Japanese bike will be a good choice for a beginner. Low maintenance, less costly insurance, less costly repairs.
A Royal Enfield Interceptor 650 might be a good choice. Good reviews and low cost.
Move up to an Italian sport bike after the initial learning curve is over

Reactions: Terrys409 and AF1

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·