MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, sorry if an answer to this already exists. Did a quick search and couldn't find anything. I'm new to MV Agusta. Just bought my first F4 -- will pick up this week. I've always done my own basic services on my bikes and would like to do the same for the F4. What are the basic tools I would need to do this (oil changes, oil filter change, removal of wheels to get new tires, coolant changes, brake pad renewal, chain lubrication/adjustment etc)? Of course, I have torque wrenches and other basic tools, but I am asking here about MV specific tools. Here is a provisional list I have made. Please feel free to correct, add or remove:

1. Rear stand 42.5mm pin for MV
2. Front stand (I have a standard front stand, but it seems I need a specific one for MV?) I saw a youtube video of a guy raising an MV Agusta F4 I think with a standard front stand, but it didn't look very safe.
3. Real wheel nut tool
4. Chain adjustment tool (should come with bike - demo model?)

Do I need an oil filter tool spanner specific to MV Agusta? I don't even know what the filter looks like, I'm such a noob.

By the way, you may like this story. A fellow motorcyclist said to me when he learned I had bought an F4, :"You're going to be the coolest guy at work with that bike" I said, "No, I'm going to be the guy at work with the coolest bike, which is a different thing. And in fact, that's no feat at all as no one else rides a motorcycle to work. Therefore, I could turn up to work on a postman's Honda 110 and still be the guy with the coolest bike."

Any handy tips or advice for a noob starting up would be gratefully received. Thanks.

Alexander

Attachments

·
Registered
320 Posts
Welcome!
If your rear wheel nut is torqued anything like mine was, you'll need a really good quality socket AND long bar/torque wrench. :)

·
Registered
14,204 Posts
Tools?

Alexander;