MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Riding home tonight it is 30 degrees outside. The Brutale's temperature gauge says 144. The other day it was 21 degrees outside and even after letting the Brutale warm up to 192 degrees, once I started riding it the engine temperature fell down so low the numbers disappeared and the gauge started blinking. I am beginning to wonder if there is a thermostat in my cooling system or not. Wouldn't suprise me since I thought my license plate light was out, and when I went to replace it there wasn't even a bulb in there.

How cold does it have to be to not ride the bike? I know the tires suck in cold weather, the suspension barely moves and the brakes squeel. Is this a signal that the Brutale would rather be at home when it's below 40 degrees?
I never have problem when it's 40 degrees or above, but dip into the 30's or lower and I get an arguement every time.

·
Registered
13,695 Posts
This goes nicely with the whole overheating question. It sounds to me like you have no thermostat or it is not working. The coolant is not remaining in the radiator long enough to cool. In your case, because the ambiant air is so cool, too much cold fluid is flowing past the thermostat.

Does anyone know why there are such wide swings in temp on these bikes? With a 170 degree thermostat, I think the bike should run around 170 degrees.

Does the fluctuation have anything to do with there being two temp sending units?

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
CAG said:
In your case, because the ambiant air is so cool, too much cold fluid is flowing past the thermostat.