MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi to all. 2014 F4. As soon as 2 years warranty expired abs light starts popping up, ones in a while in the beginning but more and more often. After a few months it lights up EVERY time I start the bike. Abs doesn't work anymore. No errors codes found (dealer said). I am a mechanic myself, have a motorcycle shop, always trying to fix things myself if possible before paying big bucks to MV dealer. Any help with this issue will be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
1,099 Posts
Hi,
on mine the ABS lights and then goes off after I have started moving. Its looking for valid signals from both wheel sensors. First thing I would do is check the distance between the sensor and the slotted disc. I'd set it for mid range to start with and the see from there. Make sure the sensor is clean too.

The ABS module has its own diagnostics which can be checked by the dealer. I thought that the ABS stores its errors i.e if either of the pressure sensors fail, but I might be wrong.

·
Super Moderator
22,072 Posts

·
Registered
1,099 Posts
Do you have a DropBox Account - if you do you can download the Workshop Manuals form my link and go through that - https://www.dropbox.com/s/78lprzohhbv7rws/mv_agusta_ f4_y13_s_r_ft_rr_workshop_manual_ed3.pdf?dl=0
If you look at page 284 through 286 of the F4 workshop manual ed.4 shows how to check and adjust if required the clearance between the sensor and phonic disc.

Page 193 shows the wiring diagram (top right hand corner N°18 & 54)

http://www.mvagusta.net/forum/showthread.php?t=165833&highlight=diagram

The sensors are 2 wire versions and without an oscilloscope you will struggle to test the sensor its self, as you really need to see the waveform not just voltage changes.

Also check the ABS fuses Page 216