MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

Last year I bought (after a couple of years of drooling at it) a 2004 Brutale 750S from an acquaintance.Lovely bike, crazy sound and it hooked me.
Since here in Romania there is a single MV dealer, which over time got quite a bad reputation, I decided to take it for a pre-season maintenance at the motorcycle garage where I left it during the winter. I thought a regular maintenance should not be a challenge.
Since it's my first bike and I'm not technically gifted, I took for granted the mechanic's word.
Turns out that the bike has quite a couple of issues. Among others, whe mos troubling were:
  • voltage was measured at 15V which according to the mechanic is very high. Since the bike stopped on some occasions, I assumed that it's an electrical issue.The bike stopped while running, but ran again after starting (after starting the battery warning light appeared and kept blinking). He recommended to buy another voltage regulator. I excluded the ECU issue discussed on the forum since I have the black one mounted. Any tips on what could be the source of the bike stopping?
  • while adjusting the chain tensions, the mechanic said there was an almost 30 mm clearance, which is higly worrying. Accoring to the mechanic there's the risk of the chain falling of the sprocket.The most disturbing issue I discovered is that the eccentric hub was very worn out and the special spanner tool could not be used to adjust the chain. I've done some research on the forum and there are 2 versions of this part. Any ideas which one should I look out for and where can I find one? Looked on ebay, but found mostly parts for newer models.
Any tips and pointers will be highly appreciated.

Cheers,
Alex

·
Vendor
5,221 Posts
Pretty sure the voltage regulator is inbuilt in the alternator.
Others can clarify this.

·
Registered
130 Posts

·
Administrator
19,129 Posts