MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
503 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All,

So, I own a 2018 Dragster RR in yellow and black. Bought it new here in Houston, TX. Traded in my 2015 Triumph 675 Street triple for the MV. Four months later my MV dealer shut with no warning. We have no local parts, service or dealer support. My bike has 4000 miles, and is running superb. Today I took it out for a fast run and had a ball. Love this machine, I really do. And I am part Italian, so some DNA there supporting my heritage.

Looking seriously at trading my MV for a new Triumph 765 Street triple RS. Been watching reviews, talking to owners on Triumph forum, and pondering. The Triumph, I think-- is a worthy replacement for my MV. Might have to buy lower seat? Otherwise, the Triumph has a lot of pluses. Biggest plus for me, since I am not a mechanic: confidence that if there is a mechanical or warranty issue: I am ok. With the MV: two warranty issues I had to pay out of pocket (failed rear blinker replace with tail tidy, and failed rear brake master cylinder). Had both issues fixed by my Moto Guzzi mechanic (no longer a dealer)-- he did the work as I am a long term customer. The MV warranty catch: has to be approved by a MV authorized dealer. The only MV dealer is in Dallas, a long way from here.

Options for the MV maintenance-- locate parts from perhaps Monkey Moto in Dallas, TX-- see if I can find a maintenance manual, and then see if I can get an independent bike shop like Motorcycles Unlimited, or my Guzzi mechanic to do the work. Lots of moving parts. Not cheap, and my confidence?

At 4000 miles, I think my MV could use a close inspection, oil/filter change, coolant change, and likely a new battery. Might be something else? Who knows. Are special MV tools required? I have no idea, again I am not a mechanic.