MV Agusta Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whilst I'm relatively new to the bike (2016 B4 ABS model, with 3k on clock) it seems to me that the gear change from 1st - 2nd needs a determined prod and can be a bit clunky at times, nothing too much and maybe just me getting used to the bike. I checked the chain adjustment and that seems fine also looked at clutch, fluid looks clear and at the right level, bite is good and whilst I find the clutch lever a tad heavy, it's probably fine. So interested in any views here.

·
Super Moderator
22,668 Posts
Welcome.

You should probably adjust where the shift lever meets your foot. These transmissions aren’t typically clunky.

Reactions: revhead1957

·
Registered
658 Posts
thicker engine oil and need a good clean and lube, then fang it in 1st 2nd 3rd, and back down.
All so stop babying MV's, it wasn't the engineers scope, treat it like a race bike. Because all the design and quick release gear box came from a race bike from the past, then trickle down to the public.

·
Registered
14,574 Posts
?

MV transmission clunky??????
You're shifting with the clutch.......this isn't a John Deere tractor.....forget the clutch, except for launch and getting into neutral
The problem is YOU, not the transmission
The MVs have the best transmissions of any bike I've ever ridden.....my RD-350 was better but I put probably 100 hours into it, under cutting shift dogs and gears>:)

I have an R1150GS, terrible transmission, with the clutch, clunks EVERY TIME......don't use the clutch, never clunks

·
Super Moderator
22,668 Posts
If your 2016 B4 has a slipper clutch, you can feel the early shifts in the lever if the clutch fluid is old.

Reactions: cruiser

·
Vendor
5,418 Posts
Should be smooth as silk like Noel said.
What engine oil are you using?

·
Registered
1,115 Posts
My 1078RR Brutale clunks into 1st every time but rest of the time its smooth if using the clutch!