MV TVL or Duc SSS...disabled rider - MVAgusta.net
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-22-2018, 06:28 PM Thread Starter

MV TVL or Duc SSS...disabled rider

Hi everyone!

Maybe you’ll help me clear my mind for my next bike. Long story short, I’m 39 and after a motorcycle crash over 10 years ago, countless hours of surgeries and years of therapy, I lost use of 75% of my left arm and hand. I can hold the handlebar but can not open my finger, limited wrist use jus pushing down, can stretch, hold and bend my elbow.
I started riding again, a bicycle first, than scooter than the first motorcycles...a custom build cafe racer 200cc with an auto clutch engine from a very old Honda Atv. I moved to a wr250 supermoto with rekluse clutch and the new vitpilen 401 with rekluse.
I can hold the handle bar with left hand but cannot open the fingers and I can keep my left arm straight on the bar having decent strength to push and pull but the more I bend the elbow the less strength I’ve to push down. Example: on a cafe racer I feel very strong riding but can’t ride to long (as everyone). On a dirt bike I’m more comfortable but left arm isn’t working much.
Well if you have questions on how I ride just ask 🙂

Now! I always loved small bikes back in Italy but now I’m in the US and as much I love my vitpilen on twisty roads once I’m on the highway to get to decent roads (40/60 mins), I start to struggle for the position with clipons, pain on left arm for bed road condition keeping arms stretched and stiff suspension and no tank to rest on but mostly...the wind.
Anything above 75mph is uncomfortable on that bike and my left shoulder start to get tired fighting the wind.
Choosing a new bike isn’t easy because I cannot test ride them.

My finalists are Turismo veloce lusso with rekluse auto clutch, Ducati SuperSport S with EFM auto clutch or super duke with rekluse.