Newbie here with new bike - 1st Impressions - MVAgusta.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 12-18-2015, 10:08 PM Thread Starter

Newbie here with new bike - 1st Impressions

Greetings folks!

I took delivery of my Lusso about 300 miles ago, so I'm still in the process of running in. However now that I can use 9000 revs I've got some good feedback about the bike.
I reluctantly traded in my 2001 F4 Strada on it because frankly at 69 years old I wasn't very comfortable on it anymore. But it found a good home and the new owner will care for it.
I own a 2000 M900I Monster and a 2004 Triumph Sprint ST. I've also spent a week touring Italy on a 1200 Multistrada GT, so I have some good points of reference.
On paper the MV seemed like the perfect bike. I love the 955 triple in my Triumph, so the 800 triple in a lighter bike with a more natural riding position seems ideal. The artistry and history of MV motorcycles is seductive. So does the bike live up to the promise?
IMHO the answer is yes, mostly it does, The bike is stunning to look at and the attention to detail, fit and finish is as good as it gets. So here are my impressions:

Engine - Very racy but a little gruff at the lower end of the rev range. Hardly any flywheel effect which challenges smooth shifting. Not as sweet and mellow as the Triumph, but more eager with a harder edge. More than enough power from 800cc. However the fly-by-wire throttle is challenging. Even in the Rain Mode it is overly sensitive with too little resistance. It is nearly impossible to reach the cruise control button without tweaking the throttle and jerking the bike. I find myself having to reach over with my left hand to press the button so I can hold the throttle steady. Not good.