Fuel gauge issue - MVAgusta.net
 6Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-28-2019, 08:56 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: East Coast
Posts: 79
Fuel gauge issue

What's up everyone. I searched and couldn't find any threads that related to the issue I'm having. I just bought a new to me 2015 dragster with just over 1k miles. The bike runs and rides perfect. The only issue I've noticed was after filling up today. I put a full tank in and the fuel gauge only showed half. On my ride home I noticed it would jump a bar below half and jump back up.

Has anyone else ever experienced this? Any possible fixes?

Thanks for the help!

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
The_Swann06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-28-2019, 09:26 PM
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 18,515
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
Fuel level sender is erratic...... there are some threads about this, but maybe not Dragster specific.

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue)
esq'z me is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 04:14 AM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: East Coast
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by esq'z me View Post
Fuel level sender is erratic...... there are some threads about this, but maybe not Dragster specific.
Ah okay that's where I went wrong with my search, sorry about that. Do you know if the fuel gauge and low fuel light work together? Or will the fuel light still come on even if the fuel gauge is incorrect?

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
The_Swann06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 05:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 581
Please please please take no offence here, but.....

You sure you not looking at the temp? AFAIK Dragsters don't have fuel gauges. I've had 2 RR's. Maybe the vanilla one does?
lucydad likes this.

Kag

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kageira is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 05:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Arcimboldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: West Macronistan
Posts: 418
New Site Garage
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kageira View Post
...AFAIK Dragsters don't have fuel gauges. I've had 2 RR's. Maybe the vanilla one does?
The Brutale of that time
-same tank as Dragster-
Didn't have no fuel gauge either.

Mebbe only one Pirelli Dragster scottish import?

The fuel light is a thermistor stiking out from the bottom of the tank.

Thermistor hasn't no moving parts then if electrical contact is OK,
sends light or not.
Unless you fill'er up with real warm gas, erratic it isn't.

Dragster
Arcimboldo is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 05:58 AM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: East Coast
Posts: 79
I'm going to feel so stupid if that's what it is I've only ever seen it expressed in numbers.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
The_Swann06 is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 06:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 581
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Swann06 View Post
I'm going to feel so stupid if that's what it is I've only ever seen it expressed in numbers.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
The behaviour of dipping below half then back up again is certainly the characteristic of the temp gauge.

So, yeh, no fuel gauge. Just a low fuel indicator that comes on, then a trip counter that comes up to let you know how many miles/km you have done, since it went into reserve. You will need to learn how far you can push the reserve by trial and (hopefully not) error.

We get different amounts of mileage out of the reserve, depending on ride style, where you ride, tyre pressure, traffic, highway/motorway etc.

Most importantly, enjoy your bike mate.

Oh and if you haven't definitely get a radiator guard!!!

Kag

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kageira is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 06:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Black_Gold_Saw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,873
New Site Garage
Since noone is posting pictures.
MV uses 2 dashboards on their brutale/dragster series. The F3 form or later Brutale.
2015 dragster uses the F3 dash I believe. But if not check the other photo.

Red circle = temp gauge.
Both dashes have a low fuel Icon.
Attached Images
  

"Mileena"
MV Agusta F3 675 '17 - Matt Avio Grey


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Black_Gold_Saw is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 06:50 AM
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 18,515
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
Is it the Turisimo Veloce that has a fuel level ??? Seems someone (or 2) had problems with a fuel level sender using a float in a tube, as opposed to the thermister found on all others.

Time for an "Advanced Search" .....

Guess I need to study the 3 cylinder bikes a bit more.......

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue)
esq'z me is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 06:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 581
Quote:
Originally Posted by esq'z me View Post
Is it the Turisimo Veloce that has a fuel level ??? Seems someone (or 2) had problems with a fuel level sender using a float in a tube, as opposed to the thermister found on all others.

Time for an "Advanced Search" .....

Guess I need to study the 3 cylinder bikes a bit more.......
IIRC, it does

Kag

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kageira is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome