Rented a B3 800 2016 for a day... - MVAgusta.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-21-2016, 04:49 AM Thread Starter

Rented a B3 800 2016 for a day...

I'm a new driver (mid 30s), my experience being limited to getting my license (100-ish hours supervised driving on a Honda CBF600) and renting a Yamaha MT-09 a few weeks ago.

A few weeks ago I made the mistake of visiting a dealer that sells MV's; after one look I just had to ride one. Yesterday, the weather finally permitted driving around all day, so I rented a 2016 Brutale 800 and drove it around the area for about 6 hours straight.

I was definitely amused by the bike. In normal mode it was very manageable even for a noob like me. My first experience quickshifting too, what a hoot!

But I have some questions/comments. It's probably just my noobishness, unfortunately I don't have any riding friends (yet?), so I have no one else to ask.

--- The clutch. The grab point for the clutch was difficult to hold (compared to the MT-09, and the CBF600 I was trained on). Though I never let it stall, it just felt a bit 'off' to me. I felt (at very low speeds) I was dicking around with the clutch more than on the other bikes.

--- Neutral. It happened half a dozen times that I would go from 1 to 2 or the reverse, and it ended up in neutral instead. This while the display would happily show me 1 or 2 until revving it a bit, and then it would suddenly jump to 0 instead. Is that a case of not shifting forcefully enough?

--- Rear brake. To me it felt like you need to push down on the lever pretty far for _any_ braking to be applied. A bit difficult to control exactly on the first day. Is this structural, or a case of brakes that are far gone? This is not necessarily a bad thing, as I'm fairly tall with shoe size ginormous, so due to my leg/foot angle it was difficult to not regularly be breaking accidentally on the other bikes which had very sensitive rear brakes.