To brutale or not - MVAgusta.net

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-08-2016, 05:56 PM Thread Starter

To brutale or not

Big fan of the look and style of the brutale. A dealer nearby (Los Angeles) has one barely used that's been sitting there for months (like more than 4 months). So...

I'm a beginner to new rider (5 years on the saddle, first bike was an aprilia mana and now have a VFR), mostly weekend riding. Did a test ride (short) and liked it, despite a bit of flimsiness felling on the highway.

Questions:

Any danger of tank slapping on highways or high speeds for a semi-newbie like me?

Reliability - is it ok, most issues fixed (this one has less than 1,000 miles).

Any other tips?

Side note: Option 2 is a street tripple, the sensible choice, just not as pretty, and I'm tired of ugly after riding the VFR for 3 years (great bike but... stupid vanity. Just want to make sure it's a bike I can enjoy and improve my riding abilities on.

Thanks! Cheers!

PPS: Option3 would be a hyperstrada or a tuono, but let's face it, the tuono has more power than I need and the hyper is not a true naked... Although it was immense fun on a test ride.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-08-2016, 07:54 PM

Do a GOOGLE search for MV Agusta reliability. There are a lot of people very unhappy with it. I've had more issues in the last year with my Rivale than I've had in the previous 20 years with other bikes.

Do something today that your future self will thank you for.
Old 05-09-2016, 06:58 AM
Old Wing Nut

Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
But he is only one person and there are many who have no problems. Owners who do not have problems typically do not post much about that on the Internet while those with problems tend to post a lot.

First, you will not experience "tank slappers" on the highway on a MV. Possibly one of the best handling bikes you can buy. Period.

Second: MVs are beautiful bikes and you won't see yourself everywhere you ride.