MV Agusta Forum banner

2018 B3 Review

803 views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  PTsalas 
#1 ·
I have a subscription to Motorcycle Consumer News and they are a no advertising magazine that is generally very honest and tell it like it is, when they write a review.
They did a review of the Brutale 800 RR, the general takeaway is it's overpriced for what you actually get. Namely the suspension, the display. They did have some good things to say, but in general they were not overly impressed.

I can agree that the suspension is not great, the steering damper has no effect no matter what you set it on and the display is less than premium. Still I do love it.

#2 ·
I can agree that the suspension is not great, the steering damper has no effect no matter what you set it on and the display is less than premium. Still I do love it.

So you agree with them then?

And I do too. There is no denying it is a good looking bike but I would want a lot more for 14,000 GBP

#4 ·
The 2018 Brutale list for $18.5K a bit steep, so for that money I would think it should come with Ohlins suspension front and rear.
By comparison the 2018 Triumph Street Triple RS list for $12.5K and comes with Ohlins suspension, a full color TFT display, and Brembo M50 brakes. The Brutale is IMO is a fantastic bike and a blast to ride, but their assessment of the suspension a valid criticism.

#5 ·
Interesting discussion, and it is good to see a valid review. Agree completely on the clock display: needs a total redesign-- it is functional, but archaic given competition. Tiny trip odometer numbers are my biggest niggle.

Suspension to me is very good to excellent, agree on setting for weight. My conjecture: on my Dragster RR-- it helps not to be a heavy or large rider? Really, I find handling great. Wonder what is up with the steering damper...agree it has small affects.