Servo delete - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-14-2014, 03:06 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 169
Servo delete

Anyone take out the servo motor to the exhaust flap. I've done it on my RSV4 without any codes. Can it be done on this bike without issues? The reason I ask is that I'd like to purchase track fairings and there's not attachment point for the servo. Thanks.

Last edited by redphu72; 04-14-2014 at 08:35 PM.
redphu72 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-15-2014, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Clarkston, MI
Posts: 504
Yes, I have the same issue as I replaced my stock bodywork with Sharkskinz. We created a bracket to remount the servo motor on the engine, but in the process had disconnected the cables and set off the error code in the dash. It runs fine (exhaust flap is always wide open), but the yellow dash light is always on and an "Exhaust Valve Malfunction" shows on the dash. Also, because the error code was tripped, I can't make any electronics adjustments.
The proper solution is an ECU re-flash, which I will do as soon as I replace the exhaust system. I understand Rexxer has a revised ECU for this model available now.
rz33v4 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-05-2014, 12:38 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 169
Sorry to bring this back up. Anyone know if I can disconnect the servo cables and keep the motor connected so no error code?
redphu72 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-05-2014, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
ceepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: England, home counties
Posts: 401
if you disconnect the servo cables at the exhaust valve there is no error code on the dash, make sure you wire the valve fully open, sounds better on the overrun too
ceepee is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-05-2014, 12:57 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 169
Thanks for confirming.
redphu72 is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-10-2014, 09:05 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 169
Took cables off. Any idea on how to complete the circuit and remove the servo motor all together?
redphu72 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-11-2014, 02:53 AM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,055
New Site Garage
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by redphu72 View Post
Took cables off. Any idea on how to complete the circuit and remove the servo motor all together?
I don't think you can do this without using the "race" ECU.

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Donsy is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-11-2014, 10:19 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 20,899
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
The cables come off at the servo end also. Just leave the servo in place. That is what I did on my 1090RR.

Gapalicious 2019 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from OCTOBER 2-6, 2019

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My personal Cell Phone: (781) 223-3020


'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-11-2014, 06:04 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 169
Thanks guys. Was just curious if I could get rid of the ugly box.
redphu72 is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-12-2014, 10:12 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 18
takes an ecu reflash to get rid of the box had Fast by Ferracci reflash mine
rsully is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome