I need a quick turn throttle - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-01-2013, 12:09 PM Thread Starter
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 18,102
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
Question I need a quick turn throttle

I realized at my last track day that my long ago broken wrist is making full throttle a difficult proposition on my SPR.
Now that I am getting used to her, and have the suspension and tire pressures sorted, I discovered I had not actually twisted the grip all the way open.
Not a problem on my Brutale, as the riding position gives me more arm freedom of motion, but tucked in on the F4 has tighter ergonomics.
Have inquired to G2 Ergonomics but haven't heard back yet.

http://www.g2ergo.com/store/g2-stree...throttle-tube/

I also changed my old SV650 for a quick turn throttle...easy fix using a Yamaha R6 tube.

So does anyone know of any easy to source tube that will give me a 1/4 turn throttle?
Still hoping to hear from G2 as their cams can be selected for more gentle off idle ramp as well as shorter total turn (that would be ideal!!)

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue)
esq'z me is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-01-2013, 08:04 PM
Senior Member
 
punisher203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,734
Send a message via MSN to punisher203
question on G2
will work on 2013 Brutale 1090rr as well?
having G2 what the different from OEM?
thanks

01 MV AGUST F4S 750 RED/ SILVER (TRADE IN) (no more)
07 MV AGUST F4 1000 BK/WHT (No more)
2010 MV AUGUSTA F4 stolen 5/7/2013
new 2013 Brutale 1090RR Wht/Gold
punisher203 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-02-2013, 05:02 AM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,054
New Site Garage
I use the Domino's Ed, easy to install, and come's with 2 or 3 otion cams.

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Donsy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-02-2013, 05:08 AM Thread Starter
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 18,102
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
Thanks, Donsy...will check it out.

G2 got back to me and said they couldn't help with quick turn....not enough demand for MV stuff to justify tooling up!..??

The G2 Brutale tube will also fit F4s....not sure if later models have a different tube than early bikes.
Makes a huge difference in throttle response feel by slowing the low speed rate of opening. Read the testimonials.

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue)
esq'z me is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-02-2013, 05:29 AM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,054
New Site Garage
Here you go Ed

I bought the throttle tube and housing, then you buy a cable kit, you make the cable's to your required length. Come's with all the right MV fitting for the throttle bodie's side of things.
Attached Images
   

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Donsy is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-02-2013, 05:31 AM Thread Starter
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 18,102
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
Thanks again, Donsy.

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue)
esq'z me is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-02-2013, 06:06 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 20,879
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
Another option, and I haven't checked this out, might be something from Rizoma. Their grips come with several cable ramps that are keyed to the grip by a toothed arrangement...that let you set things up where you need them. Although I really like Donsy's setup.

Gapalicious 2019 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from OCTOBER 2-6, 2019

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My personal Cell Phone: (781) 223-3020


'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-06-2013, 12:27 PM
Al-
Senior Member
 
Al-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,015
I've been through this myself last year. I am told that the action on the 1000R throttle is quicker than the 750, but I haven't verified this. I got a yoyodyne throttle kit for F4 and it was a huge piece of junk. I eventually just want back to the standard throttle until something else caught my eye. the domino one seems top quality, but I haven't seen it in person. Its a bit pricy but it might be the only decent option. I tried G2 last year as well and they couldn't help me either.
Al- is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-06-2013, 11:15 PM Thread Starter
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 18,102
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
Well....I just confirmed that the stock MV throttle is in fact 1/4 turn....so I think I just need to work on my arm and wrist, and get enough hutzpah to twist the damn thing WFO.....

But a US seller of the Domino stuff is in Greenville SC, BellissiMoto, and I drive through there all the time...so I'm going to drop in and discuss it with them. They have Domino throttles in stock.

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue)
esq'z me is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-10-2015, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Spud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donsy View Post
I bought the throttle tube and housing, then you buy a cable kit, you make the cable's to your required length. Come's with all the right MV fitting for the throttle bodie's side of things.

How did you get around the choke ??

I have 312r and the choke dial is on the throttle body , i know it only hold throttle boddies open a little, but to start, do you just hold the throttle open a tad ?

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Spud is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome