New blinkers not blinking - electrical guru needed - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 05:06 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
pierre.poilane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 308
New Site Garage
New blinkers not blinking - electrical guru needed

I bought the following new indicators for my Brutale as I got rid of the OEM mirrors and therefore needed new turn signals for the front:

http://www.motocorsestore.com/index....ntegrate/1-291

I had my local dealer install them thinking that it was worth paying experts for any sort of electrical work as I am a complete idiot with these matters.

What happens is that blinkers stop working while riding after one or two uses, no blinking in front or rear as well as the green dash light goes dead (that's how I realized it stopped working). The only way to make it work again is to stop the bike, turn off the engine, restart it then it'll work one, two or three times at the most then stop working.

I am taking it back but I figured it would help and save time if any of you could shed some light (pun intended) on what the cause might be.

Thanks in advance for any insight.
Attached Images
 
pierre.poilane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 05:10 PM
Senior Member
 
zvez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: georgia
Posts: 1,115
I didn't know you could use LEDs without resistors. Perhaps a bad flasher relay? Clearly since your original indicators worked fine, something with these new LEDs is the problem.

Chris
2014 B3 Brutale 800
That's Giuliano Maoggi and the start of the 1956 Motogiro d'Italia.
zvez is offline  
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 05:10 PM
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Home. In Dixie.
Posts: 13,695
Send a message via Skype™ to CAG
You might not know the answer to this question, but most led's will require some sort of resistor for them to work properly. Did they install the resistors when they installed the leds?
CAG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 05:19 PM
Established Member
 
Gitano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Philly Burbs
Posts: 183
The lights presumably come with integrated resistors, per the web link. However, this supposedly works through heating elements in the blinker body. I don't really know sh*t from shinola on these things but perhaps this "integrated resistor" system isn't actually working here?
Gitano is offline  
post #5 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-09-2013, 05:25 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
pierre.poilane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 308
New Site Garage
I also thought that the drop in wattage would require resistors but this model says that it has built-in resistors. Motovation sells them too: http://www.motovationusa.com/mvstore...idproduct=1708 and describes them as follows: Syencro led blinkers by MotoCorse are homologated and street legal, Plug&Play, and absolutely the first signals that use automotive technology! These can be installed without external resistors.
pierre.poilane is offline  
post #6 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-10-2013, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 20,879
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
Defective product or defective install then?
Perhaps these have a polarity requirement that isn't met. In other words, maybe they were wired backwards.

Gapalicious 2019 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from OCTOBER 2-6, 2019

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My personal Cell Phone: (781) 223-3020


'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
post #7 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-10-2013, 03:31 PM
New Member
 
Paleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 28
Why did you post multiple threads on this issue? There are two different sets of blinkers - one for pre 2010 bikes and one for 2010 and over bikes. You must have the wrong set for your bike. Motovation is aware of the issue and I'm sure will switch your set out for the right one. Moto Corse is also aware of the issue. No idea why they weren't more careful to have people indicate their bike when ordering to get the right set.
Paleo is offline  
post #8 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-10-2013, 05:39 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
pierre.poilane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 308
New Site Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paleo View Post
Why did you post multiple threads on this issue? There are two different sets of blinkers - one for pre 2010 bikes and one for 2010 and over bikes. You must have the wrong set for your bike. Motovation is aware of the issue and I'm sure will switch your set out for the right one. Moto Corse is also aware of the issue. No idea why they weren't more careful to have people indicate their bike when ordering to get the right set.
I don't think there are two different sets. It's an LED blinker and should be universal, not very different from the Rizoma or Oberon variety.

If you look at the Motovation page it reads:
Fits:
ALL MODELS MV AGUSTA / ALL YEARS

If you look at the manufacturer's page it reads:

THIS ITEM IS MADE FOR THE BELOW LISTED MODELS:



MV AGUSTA


DUCATI


ALL MODELS
ALL MODELS

Last edited by pierre.poilane; 07-10-2013 at 05:44 PM.
pierre.poilane is offline  
post #9 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-10-2013, 05:42 PM
New Member
 
Paleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 28
Trust me - I went through the exact same issue on a 2010 F4. There are two different parts.
Paleo is offline  
post #10 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-10-2013, 05:46 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
pierre.poilane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 308
New Site Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paleo View Post
Trust me - I went through the exact same issue on a 2010 F4. There are two different parts.
Same model? Motocorse Syencro?
pierre.poilane is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome