Chrono Time Gear Indicator Problem - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-04-2011, 11:54 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Tricolore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 171
Chrono Time Gear Indicator Problem

I have just installed the gear indicator, apparently plug and play...
Plugged it in and there's nothing, nada, nil.
I have previously disconnected the headlight and l/h switch block has been removed, would that affect the power supply?
Need help, the light and switch block are in the back of the shed somewhere and I don't want to unpack everything and rifle through the boxes to find them and discover it has nothing to do with them, plus its a track bike so I will not be using them anyway.
Ideas and input would be great.
Thanks guys and gals.
Tricolore is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-05-2011, 12:36 AM
Established Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Victoria, Aus
Posts: 170
I used the acumen with the plug & play loom and it didn't work either. Soldered the gear indicator directly into the bike loom and worked fine.
ironbar is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-05-2011, 04:58 AM
King of Carbon
 
DesignCorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: London
Posts: 1,586
Send a message via Skype™ to DesignCorse
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tricolore View Post
I have just installed the gear indicator, apparently plug and play...
Plugged it in and there's nothing, nada, nil.
I have previously disconnected the headlight and l/h switch block has been removed, would that affect the power supply?
Need help, the light and switch block are in the back of the shed somewhere and I don't want to unpack everything and rifle through the boxes to find them and discover it has nothing to do with them, plus its a track bike so I will not be using them anyway.
Ideas and input would be great.
Thanks guys and gals.
The Crono Gear indicators only work once the headlight is switch on. It will not turn on otherwise as it gets the pick up from there.

Regards

Al


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


T: +44 (0) 1582 840 024


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by DesignCorse; 12-05-2011 at 05:41 AM.
DesignCorse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-05-2011, 07:22 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Tricolore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesignCorse View Post
The Crono Gear indicators only work once the headlight is switch on. It will not turn on otherwise as it gets the pick up from there.
So does that mean I have to cut the wires from the alleged "plug and play" loom and take power from elsewhere?
Tricolore is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-05-2011, 10:34 PM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,055
New Site Garage
Question Plug n play ?

Hi Steve
Where would this normally plug into, got some pics. The gear indicator I have plugs into the dash. On the 1000R, and I am not sure on the 750, if you turn the bike on then the lights come on too ?

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Donsy is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-05-2011, 11:52 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Tricolore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donsy View Post
Hi Steve
Where would this normally plug into, got some pics. The gear indicator I have plugs into the dash. On the 1000R, and I am not sure on the 750, if you turn the bike on then the lights come on too ?
It just piggy backs into the dash. The issue is I dont have lights or switches because its a track bike. I have never had lights so not sure if the lights come on with ignition.
Tricolore is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-06-2011, 12:07 AM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Tricolore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 171
Common sense would suggest that the power supply come from the ignition, not the lights. Makes the thing pretty bloody useless for track / race application (where it is most commonly used )
Tricolore is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-06-2011, 12:10 AM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,055
New Site Garage
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tricolore View Post
Common sense would suggest that the power supply come from the ignition, not the lights. Makes the thing pretty bloody useless for track / race application (where it is most commonly used )
Have a good look at your wiring diagram, you might be able to just re-fitt the lighting fuse, or put a bridge in from one of the other power feeds. I did my whole wiring loom on the weekend, if you get stuck give me a ring later this arvo, I will be home by 5, WA time.

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Donsy is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-06-2011, 04:17 AM
King of Carbon
 
DesignCorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: London
Posts: 1,586
Send a message via Skype™ to DesignCorse
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tricolore View Post
So does that mean I have to cut the wires from the alleged "plug and play" loom and take power from elsewhere?
Indeed, the Crono gear indicators are not the best for track bikes due to this. I would suggest if you cany wire it in manually then go for a Accumen DG8 like Dons is running as they dont require the same pick up as the crono version.

Regards

Al


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


T: +44 (0) 1582 840 024


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DesignCorse is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-06-2011, 04:23 AM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
Tricolore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 171
Ok, I pulled the shed apart and found the left switch block, plugged it in and hey presto it works. Given that I would need to modify the wiring I will just leave the switch block in. I guess the only issue now is there is power to the light connector so I will have to seal it up and any other connectors incase water gets in and shorts out.

P.s. Donsy, FYI The light is powered to ignition on the 750 same as the 1000r.
Thanks for you help mate.
Tricolore is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome