Autotune update - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-12-2011, 01:22 PM Thread Starter
lee
Senior Member
 
lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: As far away from mankind as I can get
Posts: 5,076
Autotune update

Was having some trouble with the thing not sending the lambda values. Found out that the #'s in the controller for the Can bus connections for I & 2 were wrong. Set in the right ones. This thing is the answer ladies. No ifs, ands or buts. Set the A/F in the window at 13.5/1 from idle, closed throttle to 7000 rpm 50% throttle. Good a place as any to start. Went out and rode. It set the idle at 13.5+/- (tough area) and everywhere else I had it at 13.5+/-. This was with a tolerance of .5 on the A/f. Going to slowly narrow it down on succsessive runs.

It idles smoothly now and does not skip a beat. The bog off idle is gone- very smooth flow of power. All that skipping/missing at low throttle/rpm is gone. Smooth and even. And although I don't have a dyno, the seat of my pants tells me it is making better acceleration and alot more linear and smooth. Exhaust sounds better as well- not fat or sharp.

So, if you have a Microtech and your bike still runs less than you feel it should I highly recommend this thing. I still have alot of fiddling to do with it but from what I see so far, in my opinion, it's as good as a dyno and maybe better as it tunes in real world conditions at all rpm's and throttle openings.

For the first time in a long time I came back from my putt with a smile on my face and felt happy. That's been awhile, I'll tell you. The day may very well come when I cease referring to the Duc as "my shitbox".

Going to a local bike night tonight and lay on the grass, eat hot dogs, swill a Pepsi and relax. I'm tired.

I got mine. Boy do I ever got mine.
lee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-12-2011, 05:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 568
1. So you are running the autotune on a Ducati?
2. How would someone with very basic computer skills go using the Autotune?
3. How do you go about tuning top end on the road? [Big speeds]
4. And last of all do you mind telling where you got the autotune and how much please?
5. Did you have to put plugs in the pipes for the lambdas?
I have a Microtec ECU to go on my Duke, but no one here much to set it up and was thinking that the autotune might be an option but I'm not very good with computers so have been a bit put off by that.

Last edited by bstar360; 08-12-2011 at 06:16 PM.
bstar360 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-12-2011, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
 
rents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 968
Quote:
Originally Posted by lee View Post
Going to a local bike night tonight and lay on the grass, eat hot dogs, swill a Pepsi and relax.
That's the best part
rents is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-12-2011, 08:08 PM
Senior Member
 
hb88xx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: A'dam, NL
Posts: 3,406
New Site Garage
running two lambda's?

4,5Mg~3Al~2Ti~Fe

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hb88xx is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-13-2011, 04:47 PM Thread Starter
lee
Senior Member
 
lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: As far away from mankind as I can get
Posts: 5,076
Yes. Dual lambdas.

If you aren't very good with computers then I'm not sure I'd get the autotune. I'm not half bad on them and this thing has driven me nuts learning how to work it.

Tuning top end is probably a bit tougher to do as the engine winds so fast it doesn't have much time to grab the cel and mod it. Best you can do is make slow throttle movements in lower gears and hope it gets it.

Got it from the Ducshop. $$$$$ is all I'm going to say.

I have an Arata pipe on the duc and it came with two lambda bungs in it.

I got mine. Boy do I ever got mine.
lee is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-13-2011, 09:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 568
Thanks.
bstar360 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-14-2011, 03:04 PM
Senior Member
 
hb88xx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: A'dam, NL
Posts: 3,406
New Site Garage
it's on sale!?
http://www.ducshop.com/product_view.php?cat=7&pid=384

4,5Mg~3Al~2Ti~Fe

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by hb88xx; 08-14-2011 at 03:08 PM.
hb88xx is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-14-2011, 06:45 PM Thread Starter
lee
Senior Member
 
lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: As far away from mankind as I can get
Posts: 5,076
Yeah. Such a deal. Lotta' gelt. Oy !

I got mine. Boy do I ever got mine.
lee is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-20-2011, 02:08 PM
New Member
 
ThePerformanceOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Torrance
Posts: 14
13.5 is a good place to start

You might want to experiment with the 13.5 number. You will notice the engine will want a different A/F at Torque peak than it does at HP peak. Due to efficiency.
ThePerformanceOne is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-20-2011, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
firedancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePerformanceOne View Post
You might want to experiment with the 13.5 number. You will notice the engine will want a different A/F at Torque peak than it does at HP peak. Due to efficiency.

welcome to the forum

very nice bike in your avatar.
firedancer is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome