F3 675 swapping motor issue - MVAgusta.net
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-01-2019, 05:40 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 30
F3 675 swapping motor issue

So I dropped a valve in my 675 and bought a brutale 800 engine. Have the motor in and everything is hooked up. Turn the key, dash lights up passes tests, fuel pump primes. Bike in neutral, grab clutch and press the ignition. Nothing happens. No sound, no change in anything at all.

I have a brutale 800 ecu hooked up currently. I tried my 675 ecu and that will not work also, same result.

Anyone ever deal with an issue like this or have any idea what it might be?
Sstaas62 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-01-2019, 07:55 PM
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 17,952
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
Sounds like the starter relay is not getting a grounding signal to energize..... Try jumping the relay just to see if it will engage the starter, maybe start the bike too.

Would need to study the wire schematic to make other suggestions....do you have one?

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, 2015 Indian Chieftain (Rita) my "low-n-slow", '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue), 2018 Suzuki GSX-S750L8 (Susie Q)
esq'z me is online now  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-01-2019, 08:13 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 30
Jumping it does work. I'm guessing relay also, but I guess it could be a switch also.
Sstaas62 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-01-2019, 08:46 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 30
I can get it to crank when I jump it. But I wasn't able to get it to fire.
Sstaas62 is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-02-2019, 01:34 AM
Senior Member
 
dudman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cirencester, UK
Posts: 551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sstaas62 View Post
I can get it to crank when I jump it. But I wasn't able to get it to fire.
Have you mapped the ECU yet? If not hold full throttle while cranking should start then
dudman is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-02-2019, 05:53 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 30
Not yet, but would that prevent the ignition button from working? And when I say I'm jumping it I mean I am jumping power wires from the 2 connectors at the starter relay to get it to crank.
Sstaas62 is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-02-2019, 05:54 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 30
But I did get a Brutale 800 ECU off a working bike.
Sstaas62 is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-02-2019, 06:43 AM
Senior Member
 
dudman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cirencester, UK
Posts: 551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sstaas62 View Post
Not yet, but would that prevent the ignition button from working? And when I say I'm jumping it I mean I am jumping power wires from the 2 connectors at the starter relay to get it to crank.
There probably is a break in the loom somewhere.
I have encountered this issue, before I swapped engines it turned out to be a loom problem.

If you have installed the 800 ECU swap it back to the 675 to see if it will start. The ECU controls the starter relay.
dudman is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-02-2019, 07:40 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 30
Tried that last night. Same issue with both ECUs. I will test connections and wiring tonight. I have a relay ordered.
Sstaas62 is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-02-2019, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
dudman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cirencester, UK
Posts: 551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sstaas62 View Post
Tried that last night. Same issue with both ECUs. I will test connections and wiring tonight. I have a relay ordered.
If you short the top left wire on the relay, (brown from memory) to earth/frame the bike should turn over, this proves the relay is good
dudman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome