1090RR 5SM Ecu - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 03-14-2017, 06:47 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Onetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 17
1090RR 5SM Ecu

As some of you may know i have been looking for a solution to getting my 2011 1090RR running properly with a full arrow system fitted.
The bike runs incredibly well up top but down below 5k rpm it's surgy, flat and incredibly annoying.

I have learnt a few interesting things on my quest however still have no solution.

1. I have managed to pull the original map from the 5SM ecu. I will attach the map to this post for anyone who wants a headache trying to interpret any of it. It seems as though i have the ability to write to the ecu as well, however unless i have a race map or some improvement to try i am reluctant to risk bricking the ECU.

2. There is a free software called JPDIAG which works well with the MV ECU, it can perform active tests, read fault codes and reset tps etc...
This software is designed for ducatis but had no problem identifying and communicating with the MV
The cable needed is a vag kkl cable, it can be purchased very cheaply (3 pins of the OBD2 connector need to be connected to the bike) K-line, +ve and -ve


If anyone can help me further or point me in the right direction as to how to proceed from here, it would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Images
  
Attached Files
File Type: zip mv1090rraus.zip (104.8 KB, 112 views)
Onetech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 03-15-2017, 01:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calga, NSW
Posts: 1,243
I have a race ecu if you want to suck the map off that.
rsawkins is online now  
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 03-15-2017, 04:03 AM
Senior Member
 
eddypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brisbane
Posts: 3,493
Hi,what are you trying to achieve ,write your on ecu or fix the 0 throttle position to the 20 percent mark,you will not do it unless you get a race ecu with pc5 and dyno tuned,or chris from X bikes Microtec and his software and maps. ps: I am not being rude here ,If you can manipulate the stock ecu great

cheers eddy
They are a bitch when you put a full through exhaust system on ,basically back pressure changes and the ecu can not compensate for it.
eddypro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 27 (permalink) Old 03-15-2017, 04:03 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Onetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 17
Hey mate I appreciate the offer.
Is it a spare ECU or the one you are running in your bike at the moment?
Onetech is offline  
post #5 of 27 (permalink) Old 03-15-2017, 04:14 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Onetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 17
Hi Eddy,
I'm trying to come up with a cost effective method to flash the race map to a standard ECU or to disable the lambda sensor and exhaust servo motor. It is more of a project because I'm super inquisitive when it comes to this sort of stuff.. If it works out I will be sharing the information with all you guys. Hopefully it will help somebody along the line.
If it all turns to crap and I brick the ECU I will be buying a microtec

I'm not out to prove anything it's more a search for knowledge as I have a keen interest in automotive diagnostics and programming.
Onetech is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Onetech For This Useful Post:
post #6 of 27 (permalink) Old 03-15-2017, 04:51 AM
Senior Member
 
eddypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brisbane
Posts: 3,493
Fantastic ,I only have a spare standard 1078rr ecu ,which i just keep just in case. if i could disable the lambda sensor in it that would be great ,keep us informed .

cheers eddy
eddypro is offline  
post #7 of 27 (permalink) Old 03-15-2017, 07:14 AM
New Member
 
pires's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Lisbon - Portugal
Posts: 45
Onetech

The JPDIag have a write ECU mode! But is a payed option, not free.

You can import maps for your ECU (there are some on site database), or make your own map.

On the site are all the instructions to do it, you pay some amount and they send you a code to unlock that feature on JPDIAG.

Pires
pires is offline  
post #8 of 27 (permalink) Old 03-15-2017, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 20,879
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
Here is some light reading to show you what you are up against:

http://www.mvagusta.net/forum/21-per...-east-usa.html

Gapalicious 2019 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from OCTOBER 2-6, 2019

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My personal Cell Phone: (781) 223-3020


'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
post #9 of 27 (permalink) Old 03-15-2017, 07:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calga, NSW
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsawkins View Post
I have a race ecu if you want to suck the map off that.
The race ecu is in my bike, its in Pyrmont most days during office hours. Weekends take a ride up the old road and come visit, I'm 4 mins from the Calga interchange.
rsawkins is online now  
post #10 of 27 (permalink) Old 03-16-2017, 05:50 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Onetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 17
Hi rsawkins,
I'll play around with my bike some more just to make sure there is no chance of anything going wrong with your bike in the process.
However I would definitely be interested in catching up for a ride one day on the old road. If this rain ever decides to leave us.

Thanks again.
Mike
Onetech is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome