are ECUs interchangeable - MVAgusta.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-07-2014, 01:03 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
number2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Charleston South Carolina
Posts: 5,715
are ECUs interchangeable

can an ecu from an F4 be installed on a brutale?
number2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-07-2014, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 21,159
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
A 5SM can be installed on any bike that uses a 5SM. Same with the 1.6M.

HOWEVER, it will have to be tuned to the bike. Brutale motors and F4 motors have differing specs...even if you go from 1078 to 1078.

Gapalicious 2020 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from TENTATIVELYSept. 30-OCT.4, 2020

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-07-2014, 05:49 PM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,060
New Site Garage
Post

So in short, no, not as a standard unit.
Just as a definite answer for guys who are not aware of the rare option of re-writing the stck ECU software Chuck.

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Donsy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-07-2014, 06:11 PM
Established Member
 
AusMV312's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Denmark West Aust
Posts: 180
New Site Garage
F4 Ecu

With regards to Flashing/re programing the stock ECU.....what goes on in this case? Who can do it? How will it change the performance of the bike. I read that the Microtec ECU is the best option but pricey.
Is there somebody in the SW that does this Donsy?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Current 2008 F4 312R
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Track Bike
Past '93 Ducati 900 SS
'82 Suzuki GSX 1100 SZ Katana
? Suzuki GS 850 G Shaft Drive
? Honda XL 500
'82 Suzuki GSX 750 SZ Katana
'76 Honda CB 750 Four K6
In my Youth Suzuki RM 80 C
Yamaha YZ 80 C
AusMV312 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-07-2014, 06:23 PM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,060
New Site Garage
I don't even think there's anybody in Australia who does this Steve. Powercommander is the only other option for you if Microtec is out of reach.

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Donsy is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-07-2014, 07:30 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
number2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Charleston South Carolina
Posts: 5,715
using the 1078 as an example, are the motors physically the same or are the cams different between the brutale and the F4?
number2 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-08-2014, 06:23 AM
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 18,460
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
I am pretty certain the cams are one of the biggest differences....in the engine.

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue)
esq'z me is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-08-2014, 06:34 AM
Senior Member
 
gotojoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bellanagare, West Ireland 44 7875 299281
Posts: 9,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by number2 View Post
using the 1078 as an example, are the motors physically the same or are the cams different between the brutale and the F4?

They are listed on Startwin's web site...if you wish to compare parts,

joe
gotojoe is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-08-2014, 07:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Maximum Velocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 5,549
New Site Garage
Design Corse is doing reflash...

http://www.designcorse.com/shop/mv-a...mapping-detail

What a beast of a motorcycle!
It growls and rages and flies across the tarmac like a wild animal that has escaped the confinement of a cage and after merely waiting restlessly until the release, will not endure being locked up ever again.


Skye I miss you. L'essentiel est invisible pour les yeux.
Maximum Velocity is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-08-2014, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 21,159
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
AS Donsy has noted, reflashing the 5SM or rechipping the 1.6M is possible.

The maps are only as good as the bike and the bloke who took the time to do the work.

I learned through Curis's Senna that engine internals (think cams and valve timing) have a massive effect on the outcome of a reflash.

In other words: If it isn't the same year and model engine, the mapping likely won't transfer well.

The MicroTec through Chris at X-Bikes is an excellent option with superlative customer support.

Custom mapping an ECU requires hours of Dyno time and multiple ride passes in the real world to get it right. Getting my 312R to ride like it does took a couple of days and around $850.00 USD.

If you don't have access to a dyno and a GOOD tech, I'd go with Chris at X-bikes. The price isn't all that different.

Flashing someone else's map into your ECU will give you the results that THEY wanted...may not be what you want to achieve.

Gapalicious 2020 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from TENTATIVELYSept. 30-OCT.4, 2020

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome