What Did I Do To My Clutch? - MVAgusta.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-30-2014, 10:34 AM Thread Starter

What Did I Do To My Clutch?

Hey,

So I'm still pretty new to my MV Agusta and well, bikes in general so this is probably an idiot question, but I trust you guys.

I went to take my 04 brutale 750s off the battery tender and get it ready for the season. (Had to have surgery so I'm getting a late start anyway). I started the bike and let it sit in neutral for about 10 minutes, revved a few times and decided it was good to go. I turned it off, unplugged it from the tender and started it up no problem; however, as soon as i popped it into gear, the bike stalled.

I cycled through the gears 20-30 times and it couldn't find neutral at all, the rear wheel wouldn't unlock, and every time i tried to restart it, the bike just jumped forward a few inches and stalled again.

I put it back on the battery tender and waited a week, still won't start or find neutral. Fluid levels are all good, and frankly I can't feel any difference in whether the clutch is engaging or not when I pull it in.

So far it's been suggested to me to check both points on the clutch cable, confirm that the clutch is moving where it enters the crank case, try rocking it back and forth a bit with the clutch in, and try to bump start it down hill.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-30-2014, 10:43 AM

obvious question- is the side stand up?
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-30-2014, 10:47 AM

New Site Garage
Sticky plates??

What a beast of a motorcycle!
It growls and rages and flies across the tarmac like a wild animal that has escaped the confinement of a cage and after merely waiting restlessly until the release, will not endure being locked up ever again.

Skye I miss you. L'essentiel est invisible pour les yeux.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-30-2014, 10:57 AM Thread Starter

Quote: