Lambda sensor removal - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-27-2013, 10:22 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Perth, West Aus
Posts: 30
Lambda sensor removal

Hi,

Has anyone removed the lambda sensor on a newer Brutale (mine is a 2012)?

I am hiring the autotune for the Microtec and need to swap the existing one with the autotune one when it arrives.
This is the first nice day we have had for a while, so before starting to pull things apart, I thought I would ask whether there is a simple method or whether the exhaust needs to come off whilst I go for a ride.

Thanks for any advice

Wayne
wajor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-28-2013, 08:32 AM
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 17,952
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
Don't know about your model Brutale, but basically the o2 sensor simply screws into a bung in the mid-pipe. Most can be removed without pulling the exhaust system. The hardest part is getting to the electrical connector to unplug it.

You can't take it out and go riding....leaves a big hole in the exhaust!!

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, 2015 Indian Chieftain (Rita) my "low-n-slow", '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue), 2018 Suzuki GSX-S750L8 (Susie Q)
esq'z me is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-28-2013, 11:38 AM
Established Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 106
Wajor,
It can be removed without removing the exhaust. You'll have to get down on the floor, put an open end wrench on it and break it loose. I was able to unscrew mine and then unplug it fron
M the harness without any issues (990R, 2010, same setup). Chris (X-Bikes) told me not to run the bike with the autotune lambda sensor disconnected, so if you plan on running the bike without the autotune initially, then plug the bung with an appropriate fitting (I plan to use the plug that came with my Arrow exhaust, just have to find it...). I decided to buy the autotune along with the Microtec, in case I decide to make any exhaust or intake changes down the road. Now, if I could just get the weather to cooperate I could get on with the tuning.
palerider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-28-2013, 06:43 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Perth, West Aus
Posts: 30
Thanks Guys,

My bad, I meant that I was going for a ride now the weather was good rather than crawl around trying to take the probe out - that may be todays challenge as the rain is back.

I appreciate your help.

Cheers

Wayne
wajor is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-28-2013, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
theknurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Palos Verdes Est, SoCal, USA
Posts: 13,806
Send a message via Skype™ to theknurl
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by esq'z me View Post
...... The hardest part is getting to the electrical connector to unplug it.
No, Ed, the hardest part is getting the plug between the engine and swing arm

Noel-theknurl

The Forum Curmudgeon
I'm not PC either
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R
'05 F4
ph. 310-414-7247 PST, GMT -8
PayPal;
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Skype; theknurl
theknurl is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-29-2013, 08:50 AM
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 17,952
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
Quote:
Originally Posted by theknurl View Post
No, Ed, the hardest part is getting the plug between the engine and swing arm
Yeah...what he said !!

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, 2015 Indian Chieftain (Rita) my "low-n-slow", '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue), 2018 Suzuki GSX-S750L8 (Susie Q)
esq'z me is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-29-2013, 01:47 PM
Established Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 106
But still easier than threading a needle in the dark with one hand.
palerider is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-29-2013, 03:44 PM
Senior Member
 
billywhizzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Barnsley, UK
Posts: 405
Best to take the fuel tank off and then the Lambda sensor plug is easy to access ....

K1300R
Diavel
Pushbike
billywhizzz is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-30-2013, 02:19 AM
Senior Member
 
theknurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Palos Verdes Est, SoCal, USA
Posts: 13,806
Send a message via Skype™ to theknurl
Wink

maybe Shaun......but its still about impossible to get the plug through the gap between the engine and the swingarm

Noel-theknurl

The Forum Curmudgeon
I'm not PC either
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R
'05 F4
ph. 310-414-7247 PST, GMT -8
PayPal;
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Skype; theknurl
theknurl is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-02-2013, 09:09 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Perth, West Aus
Posts: 30
well I must be bloody unlucky. I have just spent a couple of hours trying to get at that probe and can't get a spanner on it in a position to undo it! I removed the brake assembly which allows better access, but the shape of the cat makes it impossible to get at. Can anyone confirm it is a 22mm spanner that is required (the autotune one is)?
I will have another go when I get back from Margaret River, but the mosquito's have got the better of me now.

Any other advice appreciated.

Cheers

Wayne
wajor is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome