Dead Dash - MVAgusta.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-15-2013, 02:27 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
trickydicky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: East Yorkshire UK
Posts: 247
New Site Garage
Dead Dash

I have a 750 F4 1+1. 2002

Riding home tonight, The dash packed up along with the Tacho.
Completely blank
No sidesatnd light no neutral light but the Indicator light works

I checked the 7.5 amp fuse which is ok. My handbook is in German so not that easy to decipher

Is there another dash specific fuse.

The bike kept running fine and after stopping it started fine again but still a completely blank dash

Any tips before I start ripping it apart
trickydicky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-15-2013, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
jimboF4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North Somerset, England
Posts: 1,511
I had the same issue it turned out to be the wiring loom rotting out on the RHS between the fuse box and the top of the radiator, tends to collect water and after time fails.

jimboF4
jimboF4 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-15-2013, 02:56 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
trickydicky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: East Yorkshire UK
Posts: 247
New Site Garage
I am sorry for wasting peoples time. I have just been in the garage and checked the fuses again 2x 7.5 amp fuses have blown
Don't have any so used 10 amp just to check and everything works. I will not be leaving 10 amp ones in place.

Will check the loom though Jim something caused them to blow.
Mind you the bike got very hot on the way home may have contributed
trickydicky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-22-2013, 12:58 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
trickydicky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: East Yorkshire UK
Posts: 247
New Site Garage
I haven't opened the wiring up just yet but I have been playing with it

Not had much time due to work 3 days off now but Child care duties tomorrow and Wednesday morning

The fuse that is blowing is the speed sensor /position light /fuel level one

I have taken the speed sensor out of the loop and it is ok
If I put a new fuse in and just turn the ignition on with side lights everything is ok
When I start it the lights and dash lights flicker eratically on and off and then the fuse blows

I posted just in case somebody can point me exactly where I need to be before I have to cut the loom open

Cheers Richard
trickydicky is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-22-2013, 01:15 PM
Senior Member
 
jimboF4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North Somerset, England
Posts: 1,511
Hi Richard,
The fault in my loom was the red/white wire power to teh dash and common on the ignition circuit. The place to look is the RHS of the bike where th fuse box is (this pulls out of a rubber mount plate. The loom runs from the fusebox towards the front of the bike, trace it along. I cut open the loom cover between the fuse box and a point just about level with the top of the upper radiator. When you open the loom up you should find the fault. Mine was corrosion where various wires were spliced together. Once cleaned up and re-soldered all was well.
jimboF4
jimboF4 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-22-2013, 01:19 PM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
trickydicky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: East Yorkshire UK
Posts: 247
New Site Garage
Thanks a lot for that. Now you describe your fault it sounds like you have described mine as well. Will check that Wednesday night and update for peoples future info
trickydicky is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-27-2013, 03:00 AM Thread Starter
Established Member
 
trickydicky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: East Yorkshire UK
Posts: 247
New Site Garage
I appear to have found the problem. It is a faulty oil pressure switch.
Just to repeat the symptoms for info. Sliwing diwn for a village where mobile speed cameras lurk looked down and had a blank dash. Everything else seemed to work. When I started to check it out I found that everything was ok until I put it in gear.disconnected speed sensor and it was still the same. Spent hours tracing wires on the wiring diagram. In the end I disconnected the oil switch and it appears to be that. There is a but. I have disconnected a lot of connectors and it could quite easily have been a resistive connection. Time to get it back to together and see if it works.
trickydicky is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome