Raise idle speed on brutale 1090 - MVAgusta.net
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By esq'z me
  • 1 Post By silentservice703
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-07-2019, 10:59 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
tonymopar440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 57
Raise idle speed on brutale 1090

How do you adjust the idle speed to raise it a few hundred rpm?
tonymopar440 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-07-2019, 01:12 PM
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 18,521
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
Done with fuel and ignition mapping....or opening the air bleed screws on the throttle bodies, but then you will still need fuel adjustment.

That's the correct way. The cheater way (not recommended by the factory) is to advance the stop screw on the cable pulley (marked with yellow "don't touch this" paint). But then you will need to reset the TPS.

That method only works on cable operated throttle. Ride-by-wire can not be changed without ECU mods.
tonymopar440 likes this.

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue)
esq'z me is online now  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-07-2019, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 21,217
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
Generally, you get the diagnostic software and the proprietary license and adjust it there.

What year is your 1090? What model is your 1090? In what country is your 1090?
esq'z me likes this.

Gapalicious 2020 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from Sept. 23-Sept.27, 2020

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-08-2019, 07:32 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
tonymopar440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 57
it's a 2013
tonymopar440 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-08-2019, 07:43 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 21,217
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
According to the Workshop Manual, your bike has the Magneti Marelli 5SM ECU.

That being said, VDST software is required to adjust idle settings.

Small adjustments can be made to idle speed by adjusting the ferrules on the throttle supply and return cables. Taking out the slop, and making sure your throttle advance lever (choke) is working properly.

Gapalicious 2020 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from Sept. 23-Sept.27, 2020

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-08-2019, 10:46 AM
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 18,521
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
If you have the 5SM and throttle cables then adjusting the central stop screw on the pulley will raise idle speed....but you WILL have to reset the TPS with the VDST software.

OR, you can install a Microtec 226 (I have one for sale) and set the idle speed by adjusting ignition and fueling....as demonstrated in a video supplied by Chris at X-Bikes. The only "proper" way to adjust idles speed.

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue)
esq'z me is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome