Eng Fault Throttle - 2010 Brutale 1090RR - MVAgusta.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-15-2017, 06:38 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
jrebollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 29
Eng Fault Throttle - 2010 Brutale 1090RR

Hi, I started the bike and when I was waiting for the bike to warm up a throttle error showed up. I could not start the bike for 5 min. After that the error was gone, and I rode the bike for 10min, and I started it a few times with no issues. What does the error mean? Any ideas? I'm concerned something might be about to die. Thanks
jrebollo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-16-2017, 07:02 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 20,821
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
I would think, after reviewing the maintenance manual, that the error is related to the potentiometer that tells the ECU how much throttle is applied at any particular time.

If it starts to happen with increasing frequency, it is probably time to clean and inspect the connector (at the throttle body) or replace the sensor.

A TPS test and reset via diagnostics software could probably tell the issue.

Gapalicious 2019 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from OCTOBER 2-6, 2019

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My personal Cell Phone: (781) 223-3020


'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-16-2017, 08:03 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
jrebollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 29
I'm not sure I have the right manual, where could I find it? In which page did you find the information?

Thanks
jrebollo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-16-2017, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 20,821
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
Donsy provides the manuals free of charge at the top of each maintenance section.
There are multiple sections in the manual that describe Throttle Position and how it is used in the process of providing fueling to your bike.
There are multiple sections of the manual that describe how to set Throttle Position.
You need the diagnostic software to do it.

The manual I referred to is the Chassis Manual for Brutale 990-1090.

Gapalicious 2019 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from OCTOBER 2-6, 2019

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My personal Cell Phone: (781) 223-3020


'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-01-2017, 06:02 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
jrebollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 29
This issue happened twice again, and I'm thinking about replacing the potenciometer, do you know the part number? Where can I buy it online? I have not been able to find the info.

Thanks!
jrebollo is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-02-2017, 04:04 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 20,821
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
Go here: Team Double 3 Racing | MV Agusta

Scroll down to the parts list for the B4 series. You'll find the part number there.

Gapalicious 2019 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from OCTOBER 2-6, 2019

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My personal Cell Phone: (781) 223-3020


'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-02-2017, 12:38 PM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 20,821
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
@jrebollo: After extensive searching, it appears the potentiometer (TPS) is part of the throttle body assembly on the B4 series. I cannot imagine that to be the case.

I'll let you know if I find more information. As for now, you can look at diagram G13 for the throttle bodies and you'll see the potentiometer in the center of the TBs.

Gapalicious 2019 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from OCTOBER 2-6, 2019

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My personal Cell Phone: (781) 223-3020


'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-02-2017, 07:55 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
jrebollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 29
Thanks for looking into it. I also spent a good amount of time looking at the parts diagram and I came up with the same conclusion. Not sure why the don't have it as a separate item.
jrebollo is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-11-2018, 10:15 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
jrebollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 29
Hi, It has been a few months since a started this post, but I was finally able to fix the issue and I wanted to share my experience. As I previously mentioned the bike was having some "Eng Fault Throttle" errors. The error would show up, and go away after letting the bike sit for a while (sometimes days). Initially, I thought the issue was a faulty throttle sensor, but since I could not figure out the sensor part number, and the throttle was failing only sometimes, which I could not understand, I decided to better understand the issue before replacing anything.

I read about JPDiag, and Guzzidiag, which you can download for free (the authors accept donations), and I decided to try these to better understand what was going on. Both diagnostic software were able to connect to the Brutale ECU, and read the data. While looking at the ECU values, I noticed that both the throttle sensor and the air pressure sensor were providing very low values when the bike was showing the error. Next, I removed the tank and I measured the voltage input to these sensors. They both had about 2.5v, instead of 5v. Both sensors are connected to a 5v output of the ECU. Finally, I left the multimeter connected, and I started moving the harness cables around, suddenly the voltage went up to 5v! One of the screws near the top of the engine was pushing into the harness, connecting the 5v wire input to the sensors to ground (I'm attaching a picture).

I still need to go for a ride (too much ice on the roads around here), but after I better protected the harness, and moved it away from the screw, I have not seen any errors. It took me a long time to solve the issue, but I did learn a lot in the process, and JPDiag/GuzziDiag are great.

Thanks
Attached Images
 
jrebollo is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-11-2018, 12:58 PM
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 17,935
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
Great work @jrebollo

Thanks for the update and resolution. A great exercise in proper diagnosis process. The 5v signal is an essential part of the system and your MV is not the only example I know of where compromised base voltage caused difficult to diagnose problems.

Glad you have it sorted

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, 2015 Indian Chieftain (Rita) my "low-n-slow", '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue), 2018 Suzuki GSX-S750L8 (Susie Q)
esq'z me is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome