1078RR Overheating - MVAgusta.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-31-2016, 12:14 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Bigbadbaz123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 33
1078RR Overheating

Hi All,

My 1078 is overheating, getting to 120+ on a run. Runs fine, no warming lights, just the temperature reading. I pulled over to let it cool for a bit before bringing it home.

Testing in the garage, both hoses to to the rad get warm pretty quickly, so I presume the thermostat is open and the water is circulating. The fan comes on at 92, and the temperature rise slows, even dropped a degree from 95 to 94, but still continues to rise. I switched off at 100.

I have a Microtec ecu ftted, I've emailed X Bikes to see what Chris thinks.

Any ideas what I try next please?

Thanks
Baz
Bigbadbaz123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-31-2016, 01:17 PM
Senior Member
 
proddieracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Milton Keynes UK
Posts: 517
Something is not right I was out on my F4 312RR 1078 today in Northants/Oxon so ambients would be similar to Coventry.

My bike has a Microtec--Decat--Bodis slip ons--Aloy fans--Samco hoses--Design Corse billet water pump and some sort of better coolant.

When running she was between 68 & 72 and in traffic or stationery she got to 90 tops.

We were not always hanging around so airflow helps. Get it to Chris you may have a head gasket gone or something related to this type of failure.

Allan

If Barbie is so popular, why do you have to buy her friends ?
proddieracer is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to proddieracer For This Useful Post:
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-31-2016, 05:25 PM
New Member
 
Robbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Country NSW
Posts: 55
Check the Temp Sensor in the head. Mine did a similar thing.
Robbo is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Robbo For This Useful Post:
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-31-2016, 10:51 PM
MVAgusta.net Sponsor
 
mitchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Gold Coast, Australia.
Posts: 4,951
New Site Garage
Send a message via Skype™ to mitchy
Switching the fans on is adjustable with the microtec,so it may be as simple as an adjustment to have the fans come on at around 85 degrees.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Bike- F4 1078.
Work.Email & Paypal.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Work Phone (+61)0755244655
Facebook- Mitch Covington
Mobile-0423041326
mitchy is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to mitchy For This Useful Post:
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-01-2016, 12:49 AM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,054
New Site Garage
Brutale should not be overheating while riding, as said before, check the sensors first.

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Donsy is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Donsy For This Useful Post:
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-01-2016, 01:46 AM
Senior Member
 
theknurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Palos Verdes Est, SoCal, USA
Posts: 13,815
Send a message via Skype™ to theknurl
Thumbs up ?

'08 910R with MicroTec fans come at 85C ...... ABSOLUTELY will not go over 92C

stock water pump, Arrow Thunder w/o dB Killers

test your temperature sensor........if it tests OK ...... email Chris

Noel-theknurl

The Forum Curmudgeon
I'm not PC either
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R
'05 F4
ph. 310-414-7247 PST, GMT -8
PayPal;
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Skype; theknurl

Last edited by theknurl; 08-01-2016 at 01:48 AM.
theknurl is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to theknurl For This Useful Post:
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-01-2016, 02:07 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Bigbadbaz123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 33
Thanks all... looks like temp sensor next, soooo doesn't it have 2, and which one please?

There's not one in the radiator, as I read in other posts.

Thanks for replies, great forum.

Baz
Bigbadbaz123 is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-01-2016, 04:48 AM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,054
New Site Garage
The 1078 only has one, check the Workshop manuals mate, there's a good fault finding process in there.

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Donsy is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Donsy For This Useful Post:
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-13-2016, 01:36 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Bigbadbaz123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 33
Temp sensor seems to be the culprit. If I short 2 pins in it the fans run fine. Initial price for a new sensor is £64!! Are they a standard part available any cheaper elsewhere does anyone know?

Part number is 8000A7511

Last edited by Bigbadbaz123; 08-13-2016 at 01:42 PM.
Bigbadbaz123 is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-13-2016, 09:03 PM
Moderator
 
Donsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 22,054
New Site Garage
I just posted in another thread on possible replacement for the two wire system, I assume you have the 4 wire sensor ?
Check the link, Tridon has an online catalogue which details the plug fitment very well and they sell on eBay so might be a good cheap option.
http://www.mvagusta.net/forum/showthread.php?t=189666
Give us the Jeager part number which is on the actual sensor please ?

Dons Nel
Own - Two F4 1000R's 06 and 07.
PayPal :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

eMial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mobile in Australia: 0438 385 776
Website with MV Manuals for Most models -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Donsy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome