Hello fellow MV enthusiasts! - MVAgusta.net
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-04-2019, 08:46 PM Thread Starter

New Site Garage
Hello fellow MV enthusiasts!

Thought I'd introduce myself. I've been riding since I was 6 years old (past 30 years) and recently had an opportunity I couldn't pass up - a close friend offered me his 2006 MV F4 1000 S and I said yes! He owned the bike since 2008 & 770 miles and has kept amazing care of the machine. I've known the bike since he bought it and even performed some of the maintenance & installed an upgraded water pump for him in 2015. It now has 9800 miles and looks & runs just like an MV should. It has an aftermarket exhaust system and re calibrated ECM and sounds so wonderful.

This machine a +1 for my garage along side my 2018 KTM Superduke 1290 R which I bought new last year. The KTM and MV are a nice pair to pick from. The KTM is comfortable, has a hooligan sound and torque curve, and the rider aids make handling the ~160 whp super easy when I want, but turning them off is always an option. Alternatively, the MV has excessive power and no rider aids, which is a thrill to ride and reminds me how fun it is to be in complete control of the power. It reminds me of my last machine...

Previous to these, I owned a pretty special 2005 Buell XB12S, which I bought new in 2006. Over the 13 years I owned it, I put it thru all kinds of torture, including a few serious turbocharger setups and some major engine & chassis renovations. In 2011, it put down over 180 hp and 170 ft-lbs to the rear wheel, and it only got better from there. In the end, it was on it's way to ~280 whp & 230 ft-lbs, but I just lost interest in the project, sold it in pieces to a friend, and bought the KTM. I may end up helping my friend finish the Buell build to see what she can actually do.