New Brutale ECU for 910S/R and New stuff for 1000R - MVAgusta.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-15-2006, 09:46 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
JamesC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: DFW, TX USA
Posts: 1,937
New Brutale ECU for 910S/R and New stuff for 1000R

No more fine tuning CO. The Brutales will now ship with the same 5sm that's currently in the 1000R but with one important difference. To meet EU3 emissions the F4 and Brutale range will ALL include a lambda sensor post cat to constantly closed-loop tune your bikes. This is why the ONE PIECE exhaust will be in place. Sounds like a PITA!

Soon, tuning your 2007+ MV will require you buy the VDSTS software instead of (or in addition to if you are particularly anal) an analyzer.

They moved the Brutale's ECU position to accomodate the ECU and to allow for larger airbox volume.

Interesting developments.

JamesC

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JamesC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-15-2006, 04:01 PM
Senior Member
 
mikef4uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chester UK
Posts: 5,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesC
No more fine tuning CO. The Brutales will now ship with the same 5sm that's currently in the 1000R but with one important difference. To meet EU3 emissions the F4 and Brutale range will ALL include a lambda sensor post cat to constantly closed-loop tune your bikes. This is why the ONE PIECE exhaust will be in place. Sounds like a PITA!

Soon, tuning your 2007+ MV will require you buy the VDSTS software instead of (or in addition to if you are particularly anal) an analyzer.

They moved the Brutale's ECU position to accomodate the ECU and to allow for larger airbox volume.

Interesting developments.
Thats odd? most single Lambda's are pre cat, only modern stuff like: eg 996 twin turbo's with OBD2 run before and after lambda's.

(This reply has not been checked for punctuation, grammar, or spelling mistakes and is devoid of any big long cleverwords or condescending manner)


MV's all gone now, still have a soft spot for MV's, waiting for MV to tick all my boxes again.
Previously (and about 40 others)748SP, S4, S4R, 98R1, 2000 F4, F41000S, F41000R, 08R1, 09R1, S1000RR, RSV4 Factory aPRC in Garage now
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mikef4uk is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-17-2006, 10:58 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 503
Interesting. The Magnetti Marelli 5AM is used by Moto Guzzi. I haven't confirmed this but I was told at a Power Commander seminar that the 5AM system is only in closed loop until ~4,000rpm. At that point it reverts to an Alpha/N open loop system.

A plus for the MM5 series is the ability to run Controller Area Network (CAN), allowing frames of data to be shared over one wire (to the dashboard for example).
Koop is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-18-2006, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
airfuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,292
Most closed loop sytems today are actually running closed loop (getting feedback from the 02 sensor) for a very small amount of time. Usiually idle and just off idle where EPA tests for emissions. Very easy to disable them to run PC's etc.

There is actually no fully closed loop system on any bike made today.
BMW comes close but there is plenty of "open loop" on those bikes as well.

Koop, what Power Commander seminar were you at??

John T
Certified Power Commander Tech.
Authorized Tuning Center/Dealer


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
airfuel is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-18-2006, 12:10 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 503
The seminar was at the Euro-Motofest in San Diego - was lead by Todd. Good session.
Koop is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-18-2006, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
airfuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koop
The seminar was at the Euro-Motofest in San Diego - was lead by Todd. Good session.
Todd Eagan or another Todd?

If Todd E I know him well!

John T
Certified Power Commander Tech.
Authorized Tuning Center/Dealer


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
airfuel is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-01-2007, 02:22 AM
Senior Member
 
khameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,332
lambda sensor and cat suppressor

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesC
No more fine tuning CO. The Brutales will now ship with the same 5sm that's currently in the 1000R but with one important difference. To meet EU3 emissions the F4 and Brutale range will ALL include a lambda sensor post cat to constantly closed-loop tune your bikes. This is why the ONE PIECE exhaust will be in place. Sounds like a PITA!
Soon, tuning your 2007+ MV will require you buy the VDSTS software instead of (or in addition to if you are particularly anal) an analyzer.
They moved the Brutale's ECU position to accomodate the ECU and to allow for larger airbox volume.
Interesting developments.

Hi Guys,

i have a question for you. I'd be very happy if you could help...

i saw your posts regarding the lambda sensor for Euro3 regulations.

I also have a 910R and i'd like to suppress the catalytic converter with an Arrow collector or another one. I already have the racing pipe and the mid-section from MV Corse.

My problem is that on the 2007 models, there is something called "lambda sensor" (like you point out yourselves) located right in the catalytic chamber.

So without the lambda sensor, you'd get an error msg on the bike board and your bike doesn't run well at low rev.

Since the lambda thingy is also located in the catalytic converter itself, and if you eliminate it with an Arrow collector + mid-section + racing pipes, how can you place the lambda sensor back in your new Arrow header properly...?any idea?

As you can see in the pictures, my 2007 model is different from 2006 models.
The 2007 (like mine) only has 2 parts : collector&cat.converter + pipes
The 2006 has 3 parts : collector + cat. converter + pipes
Moreover, the lambda testers are not located at exactly the same spot.

The information i get is that the collector should have some kind of specific opening or hole that allow for the lambda tester to be relocated nicely where it belongs.
Is this opening available on the Arrow collector?

Another question : how can i remap my Brutale's ECU (or computing system) since the EPROM on 2007 models cannot be replaced?
What tools are needed? where can i get that VDST software you're talking about? Do any of you have the fuel-injection maps available for the Arrow collector change???

Thanks
Attached Images
   
khameron is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome