TPS Reset, when? - Page 2 - MVAgusta.net
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-11-2018, 08:32 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 21,154
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
The software spoken of is the VDST software for the 5SM ECU. I suspect the TPS does need to be reset to 2.33 v.

Gapalicious 2020 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from TENTATIVELYSept. 30-OCT.4, 2020

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-11-2018, 09:14 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by silentservice703 View Post
The software spoken of is the VDST software for the 5SM ECU. I suspect the TPS does need to be reset to 2.33 v.
Yes it must be reset. I have 5SM software which i can only read fault codes and measurements with, no tps reset sadly.
The tps atm shows 5.2 degrees and it says throttle is in the midrange and not closed.

I believe that the vdst software is quite expensive, isn't it? Else i'll have it reset at an MV dealership or a mechanic that could do it.

What about the vdst software? What are the costs and is it downloadable/could someone send it over by mail or anything?

Thanks!
Dutchmv is offline  
post #13 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-11-2018, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
 
silentservice703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Duxbury, MA, USA
Posts: 21,154
Send a message via Skype™ to silentservice703
I have the required software and I could send it to you at your cost. I would need to have it returned to me so that I can work on my bikes.

The program works on an older Microsoft window XP or Vista system.

Gapalicious 2020 at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from TENTATIVELYSept. 30-OCT.4, 2020

Call (423) 519-2000 or (423) 253-6213 to reserve your Riverfront Cabin. PM me for The Crow's Nest reservation!!!

Email/Paypal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



'07 F4 312R, '10 B4 1090RR, '15 B3 800RR
'07 Ducati Monster S4Rs, '07 Ducati Monster 695
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra-Classic Electra-glide CVO FLHTCUSEBLK
'63 Honda C100A Cub
'61 MVA TRA 125
silentservice703 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-11-2018, 11:09 AM
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 18,441
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
The software could be downloaded from a "Dropbox" account or similar...but you need the communication cable to use it.

I also have the tool and would loan it to you, but perhaps there is another forum member nearby who could help??

Like Chuck's software, mine runs on older machines (Windows XP platform). I have an old lap top in my shop just for diag software.

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue)
esq'z me is offline  
post #15 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-12-2018, 02:59 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by esq'z me View Post
The software could be downloaded from a "Dropbox" account or similar...but you need the communication cable to use it.

I also have the tool and would loan it to you, but perhaps there is another forum member nearby who could help??

Like Chuck's software, mine runs on older machines (Windows XP platform). I have an old lap top in my shop just for diag software.
I have VAG-KKL cables and an ELM327 connector, does one of these do the trick?
If it has to run on XP i have to acheologically dig out my desktop

Thanks!
Dutchmv is offline  
post #16 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-12-2018, 03:43 AM
Senior Member
 
eddypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brisbane
Posts: 3,493
It runs on windows 8.1 and should run on windows 10, do not try and adjust it manually , Have fun done all this years ago find my posts and there is a lot of them on this topic ,good luck.

cheers Eddy
eddypro is offline  
post #17 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-12-2018, 03:49 AM
Senior Member
 
eddypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brisbane
Posts: 3,493
vdst software ,you will only be able to reset Tps and adjust Fuel trim ,now fuel trim is important to slightly raise the idle if to low , if the idle is to low you have to muck around with the bleed screws also to raise it . under no circumstances touch any screws on the throttle bodies , DANGER DANGER ,Lol
eddypro is offline  
post #18 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-12-2018, 06:57 AM
Old Wing Nut
 
esq'z me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 18,441
Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddypro View Post
It runs on windows 8.1 and should run on windows 10, do not try and adjust it manually , Have fun done all this years ago find my posts and there is a lot of them on this topic ,good luck.

cheers Eddy
The software I have didn't work on my newer machines. I'm sure later versions would.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddypro View Post
vdst software ,you will only be able to reset Tps and adjust Fuel trim ,now fuel trim is important to slightly raise the idle if to low , if the idle is to low you have to muck around with the bleed screws also to raise it . under no circumstances touch any screws on the throttle bodies , DANGER DANGER ,Lol
The Fuel Trim is only active if you have the "Race" ECU. The standard 5SM will not allow it. That is the one with active o2 sensor. The oxygen sensor controls the fuel trim.

I have no idea if the cables you have are compatible. The "Dongle" in the cable controls what machines the software can talk to. I bought "single brand" only for MV.

I used to be fast....now I just dream about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 910R (Gina), '04 F4 SPR #275 Track Bike (Lola), YSR50 (The Rabbit), '71 CB100 (Lil' Red), '75 RD350C (Orange Bird) restoration project, '70 Suzuki F50 (Baby Blue)
esq'z me is offline  
post #19 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-12-2018, 10:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Smoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddypro View Post
It runs on windows 8.1 and should run on windows 10, do not try and adjust it manually , Have fun done all this years ago find my posts and there is a lot of them on this topic ,good luck.

cheers Eddy
I can confirm that Chuck's software worked on windows 8.1 as well.
esq'z me and silentservice703 like this.

2011 Brutale 1090RR
Smoker is offline  
post #20 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-13-2018, 04:43 AM
Senior Member
 
eddypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brisbane
Posts: 3,493
By memory i think there is a usb driver update somewhere ,probably on there site ,was a long time ago,No idea on fuel trim on standard ECU .

CHEERS EDDY
eddypro is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to use all of the features of the MVAgusta.net site, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome