New Member Questions - MVAgusta.net
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-04-2019, 10:30 AM Thread Starter

New Member Questions

Hi, I recently purchased a classic MV and have some pics posted on the Intro. forum. It's been off the road for a while, in someone's collection, so I will need to do the basic things to get it road worthy. I'm not new to vintage bikes but I am new to MVs and Italian bikes. I'm not quite sure what model I have. It was labeled a 1957 MV Agusta 125 SS. I don't think that model exist. The engine is a TR and the frame a TRE though the look is more GTL. I've been searching for a resource that would date the engine and frame numbers but so far no luck. I've written the museum but have not heard back yet. Is there an online resource for VIN dating? Also, there appears to be some numbers below the frame numbers. Anyone know about those numbers?

So, some of my immediate tasks are to find a 6V period looking battery and strap, new tubes and tires (Pirellis, City Demon), add fluids, possibly clean and adjust carb, find frame mounted tire pump (I love the look of these on my BMWs), new rubber for kick starter, possible speedo service and perhaps a model correct dual seat (though I like the look of the solo seat). And most importantly find the correct instruction manual once I determine which model I have. I've looked at the 150cc manual and I suspect it's pretty similar.

Attached are a few more pics. Tell me what you think it is. Does anyone have anything similar?

Thanks.
Attached Images

nigelrb and db_509 like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-04-2019, 12:15 PM
Old Wing Nut

Send a message via Skype™ to esq'z me
That is a nice bike. Appears to be in a freshly reconditioned state. You might also contact the good folk at Barber Motorsports Museum in Birmingham Alabama. They are quite knowledgeable and have an enormous library